I.C.O.B.O.P.A declared for Wednesday, June 20 (solstice)

Earthwise Productions 18th Anniversary show and Plastic Alto blog present I.C.O.B.O.P.A, the International Congress of Buskers of Palo Alto, “eye see oh be oh pea, hey!”, Wednesday, June 20, 2012 in Palo Alto, California. Street musicians from all over will converge and play music ¬†between 5 and 10 p.m. on University Avenue, Lytton Plaza, Cogswell Plaza, Johnson Park and Martin Luther King Plaza / City Hall / Clear Story. For more info, see “Plastic Alto” the blog or call Mark at (650) 305 – 0701.

-30-

just added: Haitian-American troubadour T-Rosemond has been confirmed to play ICOBOPA; he will perform at 8 sharp at 456 University Avenue in Palo Alto (in front of the historic and beloved former Varsity Theatre; across from the Apple store). The “T” before his name is French for “small” – makes me wonder if T-Pain is also from Haiti or something. T-Rosemond, I call him “Rosemond”, is no smaller than Tommy Jordan or Martin Sexton. When I met him I brought up Trombone Shorty (Troy Andrews), who started small and is not bigger than his trumpet and trombone laid end to end. I am expecting three current or former Mayors of Palo Alto to catch at least part of T-Rosemond’s set; I modified 18 of my famous but underutilized TLPW456 flyers to include info on this event. Not sure what I will do about the other four or five sites I hinted might have music; might have to punt the “congress” part of ICOBOPA for the next run through. So this is International Busker of Palo Alto singular. Not that I don’t have more than 60 potential street musicians in my cell phone alone, and numerous more in various other data-piles, if and when the revolutionary gunpowder-fuse is ignited. But for now come down to Uni Ave and try the yogurt or Vietnamese food, and T-Rosemond. We don’t have a permit or road-blocks but we do have it on good authority that the sun will stick around til almost 9.

edit to add, Wednesday, June 20 1 p.m.: it is “Day of Show” and I am doing a variation of my “Day of Show” ritual: walking around town with flyers, making a couple phone calls to people I’d like to see turn up, rhapsodizing about how to dress the stage; I ran into Lin or Lynn the widow of St. Michael’s Alley founder Vernon Gates and she nearly had me calling on the actual owner of the Varsity to suggest he open the chain-link Gates. I thought of running a much longer “Day of Show” post, at the expense of the legwork. Woke to a motto: Vox Clamantis est ICOBOPA. I still may add acts from 5 to 7, or move the venue, or just make it a point to hand out flyers from 5 to 7 and noodle on my mbira, at the site, blurring line between organizer, blogger and participant even further. Muddy waterer. Found an omen in Glen Hansard at Tiny Desk.

edit to add, the next day: ICOBOPA was a huge success and featured T-Rosemond, Dave Hydie, Michael Akatiff, Isiah Pekary and Mark Weiss. Mayor Sid Espinosa texted that his meetings were running too late but that he loves live music. Dan and Sunny Dykwell waved from their passing convertible. More to come.

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in media, music, Plato's Republic, sex and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

