Happy anniversary to Terry and I

Radius artist Terry Acebo Davis of Palo Alto

I woke up this morning with a dream that Sedge Thomson’s West Coast Live show was soundchecking nearby and I could throw on my clothes and attend the live taping. Actually, Sedge and Sylvia Brownrigg, his beautiful wife, 2/3 baby-mom to his brood, Gunn graduate and little sister to Burlingame council member Michael Brownrigg, are on vacation so his show is a repeat. In honor of that, I am running a “best of” column with excerpts from some of my previous 151 (like the rum proof) posts. I am quoting from the nine posts that mention my sweetie, the visual artist, arts administrator and all-around goddess Terry Acebo Davis.

1. “Jump Around” from 9/9/10

https://markweiss86.wordpress.com/2010/09/09/jump-around/

In this post, which includes a picture of us with our favorite Santa Fe arts couple, Mateo Romero and Melissa Talachy, I describe our travels in the Southwest, and sundry other arts topics.

Mateo Romero, Mark Weiss, Terry Acebo Davis, Melissa Talachy Romero

It actually talks about Matt Gonzalez and Alden Van Buskirk as much it does Terry but it’s also true that so much of my view on the visual arts is catalyzed by my relationship with Terry, who I’ve been dating since summer, 2009. I also link to her semi-recent show at Triton.

Then around New Year’s 2011 I posted a brief entry that was mainly a picture I snapped of her with my cell as we were going to Santa Fe for the holidays, plus some links to another of her shows, plus some random Flip-related links

Terry Acebo Davis on flight to or from San Jose or Albuquerque, Dec., 2010

. All and all, this blog is probably the best source for info on Terry Acebo Davis. Most of her considerable arts output predates the internet era, which is also probably true of Earthwise Productions and “The Cubberley Sessions.”

3. “Terry Acebo Davis backlit New Year’s Santa Fe flight” from 2/23/11

https://markweiss86.wordpress.com/2011/02/23/terry-acebo-davis-back-li/

4. “PA(tch): or, PA!!!” from 5/2/11

Next, from Spring, 2011, is actually a verbatim re-pasting of my cover letter and query to become a contributor to Patch Palo Alto but I had shot its editor Aaron Selverston

Aaron Selverston, editor of the new local media outlet Patch.com, a part of AOL, interviews sculptor James Moore and PAPAC commissioner Terry Acebo Davis on Earth Day, April 22, 2011 at the Bill Bliss Memorial installation in Palo Alto, Calif.

speaking to Terry and artist James Moore at the Earth Day event at Baylands.

(note to self, as if my blog is anything beyond a note to self, maybe I can re-post some of these photos in thumbnail here)

https://markweiss86.wordpress.com/2011/05/02/patch-or-pa/ Now Terry wants to go to Farmers’ Market so I will have to stop here. Relationship, 1; Blog, 0. (which is a lot better sounding that Paly 45, Gunn 14).

talk among yourselves until i get back to edit to add

edit to add, Saturday, September 24, 2011, noonish: Terry and I paid a visit to the Farmers’ Market. Highlights include: seeing our favorite plumber/drummer sitting in the Naomi and Friends klezmer, explaining or correcting someone who confused the terms “clave” and “klezmer”, seeing Alexandra Ippolite, her husband and babygirl Paige, and her upping my group discount to “Page One” group viewing on Saturday, October 1 at 11:00 a.m. part of Palo Alto International Film Festival; spotting ex-49ers lineman Harris Barton, who I secretly stalk, and watching him order four plates from Oaxaca Kitchen, presumably to share with his family; buying a croissant afterwards from the new Kim family Paris Baguette bakery at Uni and Waverley. Terry is off to try to salvage old bowling pins from the former Fiesta Lanes while I am back to blogsville.

5.  “Terry Acebo Davis as virtual open studio installation” from 5/19/11

https://markweiss86.wordpress.com/2011/05/19/terry-acebo-davis-as-4030-transport-kienholz-virtual-open-studio-installation/ In May Terry was too busy to show or sell her works at Open Studio but I shot three photos and made her a virtual studio tour, for Open Studios.

Terry Davis plus her work plus her studio equal installation

6. “Mia Ollikainen George Herms diptych” from 7/6/11

This one is actually more about Mia Ollikainen than Terry Acebo Davis, but it mentions Terry in a couple places, AND she logs on (albeit under my name — confusing, I know, hence the John Berryman “Dreamsongs” digression) to comment.

https://markweiss86.wordpress.com/2011/07/06/mia-ollikainen-george-herms-diptych/

7.  “Please slug yourselfs to SF to see Terry Allen” from 8/27/11

This one is about Terry Allen not Terry Acebo Davis, and references Dizzy Dean as much as our arts commission outgoing chair, but Terry Davis did read this post closely enough to win, hands down, the Sled Allen baseball card contest. Terry made a set of 100, a box set nonetheless, on the obscure baseball player whose son we were honoring. In lieu of a cash prize I ended up paying for Frida’s little sojourn at the vets/boarding. Frida being her Cocker Spaniel that I walk three times a day, not the actual Frida,

Frida the cocker spaniel enjoying a sunny Palo Alto afternoon walk

Kahlo her namesake. Sometimes we call her Lady Boo-zine-GaGa, not sure why. (Maybe I can do a similar omnibus of Frida at “Plastic Alto”)

https://markweiss86.wordpress.com/2011/08/27/please-slud-yourselfs-to-sf-to-see-terry-allen-sept-first/ I would say overall my baseball card contest was more actualized than my Giants-Rangers proposed tribute record (“Humm Rhyme Derby”) but less so that TLPW456, my Smith-Andersen one day art show in honor of my campaign for City Council in 2009 or my Wallace Stegner tribute. If any stragglers turn in cards I will forward them to Paule Anglim. Terry Acebo Davis, in the comments, posted a link to see her card, but I think it only works from her home computer.

8. “Marcus Shelby and Howard Wiley at Cafe Claude” from 9/2/11

https://markweiss86.wordpress.com/2011/09/02/marcus-shelby-and-howard-wiley-at-cafe-claude/ This one is about Marcus Shelby but it mentions Terry Acebo Davis in the first sentence because we met Marcus and Howard Wiley at Cafe Claude after the Terry Allen show, and I ended up hiring Marcus to play the Mildred Howard event at Palo Alto City Hall, for “Clear Story” a project Terry was involved in (although it was Karen Kienzle’s baby, more than 2/3).

9. “Happy anniversary to Terry and I” from today, September 14, 2011

Okay now we are back to this, whose prologue reads:

happy anniversary to my girlfriend Terry Acebo Davis and I. Thanks, Terry for two such beautiful and exciting years. Continue reading →

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in art, sex, sf moma, this blue marble and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Happy anniversary to Terry and I

  1. markweiss86 says:

    did i mention that terry took the excellent photo of me bowling in st. paul at my cousin’s bar mitzvah and then edited it to fit the format here?

  2. markweiss86 says:

    hey i found this cool picture of Terry Acebo Davis by Cris Matos at the DeYoung:
    http://www.sfgate.com/cgi-bin/object/article?f=/c/a/2009/01/28/NSH415E1QS.DTL
    for the “Place of Your Own” show. She actually has three of those door mats at her home.

  3. markweiss86 says:

    i will be back with fresh “Plastic Alto” real soon, probably about the Palo Alto International Film Festivalf, especially the film about The New York Times, “Page One” I think it called, and that I am hopefully taking a group of people to see it, with a pre-screening chat at 9 or 11 a.m. on Saturday, October 1. Stanford hosts UCLA in football at 7:30 that night. Also, mark your calendars for Oct. 5 8 a.m. Wednesday morning hearing at Historic Resources Board about the application to turn the historic and beloved Varsity Theatre in office space. Until then keep your feet on the ground but keep reaching for the stars…

  4. markweiss86 says:

    actually it’s “boo ZHIN gah” with a French-Nigerian thing, not “bad romance” lilt

Leave a Reply

