Absurd tension for IM

courtesy Chronicle Books

 

edit to add, Monday, Feb. 20, 2012: I went in to Safeway to try to buy the Jeremy Lin Sports Illustrated but instead walked out with The New Yorker because it had a blurb about Doomtree in New York doing something called Wugazi, a mash-up of Fugazi and Wu-Tang clan. Now I only know of Doomtree because it or they played a show at St. Olaf’s College in St. Paul, MN the same day as my cousin’s Bar Mitzvah – his band Souldiers played an old school bowling alley — in fact, the photo above on the “Plastic Alto” masthead is me throwing the rock that very day, by Terry Acebo Davis — I was digging Desa from Doomtree and bought her cd, a book of her poetry and two t-shirts from that show – it also featured Ted Leo I spoke to that day. I was watching Coen  Brother’s “A Serious Man” during a break in the Bar Mitzvah weekend action.

I don’t really know that much about Wu-Tang other than the music from “Ghost Dog” if that says anything. And I only saw Fugazi once, plus “Instrument” screening at the Whitney, yet I am obsessed by Ian MacKaye who I sent the above cryptic cellphone capture to, or tried to. It’s words from the recent book, also called “Instrument” about mostly indie musicians and their guitars.

three years later I am editing to add to this post in that the computer generated a link from Today’s post — March 8, 2015 to this post because they both reference RZA: the “IM” in the headline refers to Ian MacKaye, who I met when his band The Evens played at Terman. (Truth be told, I kind of wore him down, with my gushing enthusiasm). Here is a link to the book, on Chronicle imprint, I bought, also called, like the movie about Fugazi, IM’s other more famous band, “Instrument”
http://www.amazon.com/Instrument-Pat-Graham/dp/0811874745

and1: if you are reading this but thinking about Stevenson House the senior center in Palo Alto, California, ask yourself if you want to subject the well-being of seniors to market forces and “savvy investors” (so now I can tag this “plato’s republic”, i.e policy).

andand: the Dessa Doomtree Ted Leo show was actually at The Mac.

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in media, Plato's Republic and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Absurd tension for IM

  1. markweiss86 says:

    i am trying to get my cousin Isaac Blumfield to change his band’s name from Souldiers to Mouldiers, to honor the great MN indie musician Bob Mould.

Leave a Reply

