Pandora is evil, Linda is beautiful

Linda Perry, the song writer who penned Christina Aguilera’s hit tune ‘Beautiful,’ saw the song played more than 12 million times on Pandora during the first three months of the year. For that Perry earned $350.

(Credit: Greg Sandoval/CNET)

Read more of Greg Sandoval CNET’s reporting here. And here. I cut and paste the above of Linda and think of it as “fair use”. We’ll see how long it stands. I think of myself as pretty soft on intellectual property rights, if that does not contradict feeling that musicians and composers should be paid a share of a revenue stream that a public traded corporation rakes in off their backs. In the instant case, I feel I am promoting Greg Sandoval and CNET by re-reporting their ideas and linking back. 

I was psyched to hear just now on KTVU that Pandora stock took a hit. I was psyched last week to hear something about artists complaining that they were being used by the service which to me is like a rain dancer charging money for the rain.

The article I am ripping from above, from CNET, says, for instance, that Linda Perry’s song “Beautiful” has been spun (or whatever) 12 million times and Linda has gotten $350 in songwriter royalties from them. (Compared, for example, to the statutory rate of about 8 cents per song if I record and manufacture that song: a million bucks).

Also, related links say that the spurious Internet Radio Act or whatever (Pandora whining again, about its business model, and wanting a bailout from idiot lawmakers) is failing.

Pandora is perfect example of the fact that music does a lot more for proliferation of computers than computers does for music. If it went public at $16 and is at 7 and falling it means Wall Street and vcs cashed in and out and investors got screwed.

On the other hand, I’ve always liked Linda Perry and love her comeback as producer and writer after the demise of Four Non Blondes. I met her once at Paradise Lounge and she claimed we had met before: “I’m like Al Pacino, I never forget” — not sure where she got that. Then I wrote a weird, anti-corporate screed to her that I hope her management intercepted and trashed. I made a lifetime pass for her that I never got to present at either of the Stone Fox shows I produced. (I think I only gave out two or three lifetime passes; not that they get you much these days).

Re Linda, that she and her manager Kat Sidowsky and famous ups and downs, there and back agains, I think about apropos of my own clients and former clients.

Tim Pandora has made millions on these musicians and meanwhile very few more musicians have gone from starving to working class since the advent of 2.0 and all that.

edit to add, a year or so later: not buying the B.S. about Pandora buying a terrestial radio station in North Dakota to qualify for a better deal on publishers’ royalties: Pandora steals content from thousands of performers and labels and then tries to dictate the ransom or kickback. Also: the supermath algorithm metaculus is a lie, just look how quickly any path leads back to “the single”.

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in filthy lucre, media, music, sex, sf moma and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pandora is evil, Linda is beautiful

  1. Pingback: What Stupid Does | Confessions of a Serial Songwriter: (Not So) Gently Down the Stream - What Stupid Does

Leave a Reply

