Danse Macabre with my former classmate

Somehow I found myself searching for Martin Kryska, my Dartmouth classmate who died in a car accident in 1992. I didn’t remember that he was at Anderson Ranch arts center near Vail, CO in residency at the time of the accident. Martin was a woodworker and sculptor, although more people probably thought of him as a Nordic skier and athlete.

I found a website that has footage of the top ten finishers in the Mt. Washington race, with Kryska placing fourth. I made this somewhat eerie still shot of his finish.

Martin Kryska (1964-1992), Paly grad, Dartmouth grad, nordie, runner and artist, circa 1988

Martin Kryska (1964-1992), Paly grad, Dartmouth grad, nordie, runner and artist, circa 1988

I am tempted to call a number I found and talk to the person who curated a posthumous show of Martin’s sculpture in 1995 at Dartmouth, in Hanover, N.H. It also appears that the catalog of that show is at Stanford’s Green Library.

edita the next day: I did try artist Pamela Joseph in CO a couple times and left a message saying I wanted to ask her about Dartmouth.

 

edit to add, three years later: Dartmouth archive has a nice photo of Martin, plus a group shot of C&T.

kryskamartin-at-dartmouth

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in art, sports, this blue marble and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Danse Macabre with my former classmate

  1. Maureen White says:

    Hi. I was good friends with Martin in Snowmass, CO (where Anderson Ranch is). I only just thought to Google him. He was an exceptional, wonderful person and I miss him still.

    Hi, Maureen. I also once went on a blind date or semi-blind date with Martin’s brother, Paul, his girlfriend and the sister of that young lady. We were all in high school,and went to a classical music concert, by Ferrante and Teicher (unless that is new age not classical)

    Stanford, since this posting, has destroyed the Library I mention but hopefully moved Martin Kryska’s book to the new location. I don’t have Stanford Library privileges, but am tempted to to try to check it out.

    I did talk to his friend the curator around the time I posted above.

    Sorry for your loss. Martin was a very talented guy.

Leave a Reply

