Sharon Washington and Colman Domingo in Palo Alto

sharonwashington81
The Dartmouth Alumni group sends me a note that a group of alumni will check out the Theatreworks show “Wild With Happy” based on the fact that a featured performer is Sharon Washington, who is a Dartmouth alumna, class of 1981 (to my 1986 — i.e. she is five years ahead of me, we missed each other by two years, or she was a classmate of the famous Kemp to Shula combination).

I was planning on, in my head, not quite in “Plastic Alto”, to interview the show’s creator and co-star Colman Domingo, on the strength of having seen him at Berkeley Rep’s version of “Passing Strange” which was created by my former client Stew. I met Colman briefly backstage  there.

I sent a little note to the Theatreworks publicist, although it might have gone into their spam file, since all I did was reply to a group email about the show.

I said somewhere else in here that I also left a note on Leah Garchik’s voice mail about Colman Domingo and his connection to “Passing Strange” — Garchik’s son, the trombonist Jacob Garchik — had played with Stew at times.

“Passing Strange” featured another Big Green alum, Chad Goodridge ’87.

Colman also appears in the opening scene of “Lincoln” the movie although I didn’t realize that at the time. Perhaps reason enough to rent the film.

He also appeared in a production of “Blood Knot” by Athol Fugard, a version of which I caught and liked at ACT. And “Scottsboro Boys” a big deal.

Colman is a rising star and maybe too busy to talk to little old “Plastic Alto”.

The Chron and the Merc had favorable notices of the production, which also played at Public Theatre of New York.

I recall seeing notice in The New York Times about an earlier Colman Domingo show, and called the theatre (off Broadway, or off-off) and maybe was put through to his producing partner  Tony Kelley). I think I have the clip and my notes somewhere.

Anyhow, this is the best I can probably do. There are 22 shows left, including tonight’s.

Break some legs, yo!

DARTMOUTH NIGHT PERFORMANCE OF WILD WITH HAPPY FEATURING SHARON WASHINGTON ‘81
Center for the Performing Arts, Mt View
Tuesday, June 18th at 7:00pm

Join the Dartmouth Class of 1981, the Black Alumni of Dartmouth Association, and the Dartmouth Alumni Association of Silicon Valley for a special performance by Sharon Washington ’81 in Wild With Happy, an absurdist-flavored new play about family, death, and healing. Read more | iCal

 

edit to add: big print say “in Palo Alto” small print say “in Mountain View”; all good in “Plastic Alto”. (show is actually at Mountain View Center for Performance Art, on Castro)

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in art, media, sex and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

