23 bonbons and beisboleros from Venezuela

Twenty three venezuelan chocolate bonbons, at Coupa Cafe, Palo Alto, Thurdsday, April 24, 2014, 9:36 a.m. (detail)

Twenty three venezuelan chocolate bonbons, at Coupa Cafe, Palo Alto, Thurdsday, April 24, 2014, 9:36 a.m. (detail)

Jose Carlos Altuve
Alexi Jose Amarista
Elvis Augusto Andrus
Oswaldo Celestino Arcia
Gregor Miguel Blanco
Asdrubal Jose Cabrera
Jose Miguel Cabrera

to be clear I bought this magazine but did not actually eat the 23 bonbons

to be clear I bought this magazine but did not actually eat the 23 bonbons

Alberto Jose Callaspo
Ronny Cedeno
Francisco Cervelli
Endy De Jesus Chavez
Alcides Escobar
Eduardo Jose Escobar
Freddy Jose Galvis
Avisail Antonio Garcia
Carlos Eduardo Gonzalez
Franklin Rafael Gutierrezgutierrezsea
Jesus Antonio Guzman
Jonathan Alejandro Herrera
Omar Rafael Infante
Cesar David Izturis
Maicer Izturis
Jose Manuel Lobaton
Victor Jesus Martinez
Miguel Angel Montero

(Source: Who’s Who In Baseball, 2014, 2014, New York, Pp 3-110)

edit to add: from a 2012 post about Venezuelan baseball, again inspired by Coupa Cafe coffee:

GUTIERREZ, Seattle — I am going to hold on to this guy’s card, and maybe put it in my vault because the stats on the verso are for a Washington pitcher and not a position player from Seattle. With more hours in the day, I could comb through my Baseball Almanac and call this error by it’s proper name.

The chief myersist of the search injuns leads me to believe that Topps has seen fit to attach Sean Burnett’s numbers onto the card of Gutierez. And not to nit-pick but I found a number of cards, in my pack of 12, wherein the stats listed “3B” twice, that is for both double and triple columns. Also, it lists “W” for both wins and walks; I would suggest “BB” (base on balls).

MONTERO, Arizona – I am forgetting now, since I left the stash in my new baseball-hotdog-apple-pie-mobile, what I learned from this 2×3″ oracle, but I think I noted that he is one of about 200 Venezuelans in the show, all time, and that he broke the Arizona record for extra base hits by a catcher — hence the thing about 3B having too many plate appearances so to speak.

i think that is kinzler he is blocking

 

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in film, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

