The Croix de Palo Alto

Back in the day the San Francisco Giants had a promotion wherein if you stayed to the end of an extra innings game, at often breezy and brisk Candlestick Park, you would receive a little prize, a pin called Croix de Candlestick, after some French sounding medal or award in the real world.

In Palo Alto, whether it is homage or not, as part of Our Palo Alto, a staff member handed me, and others a little pin, a reward for paying attention to what passes for democracy (in a breezy and brisk way) here. I sat thru two of these Our Palo Alto meetings and for the most part resisted letting myself be bribed by cheese and crackers, wine, cake, dips and chips and the like. (I had part of a bottle of mineral water, at Avenidas, and took the pin).

I noticed in Council Packet that we the people are actually spending $325,000 on this.

I would like it if staff could itemize this for me.

Here is my pin:

I've been pinned by Our Palo Alto

I’ve been pinned by Our Palo Alto

edit to add:

  • mark weiss
  • Today at 1:07 PM
To
  • ourpaloalto
  • XXX XXXXXXXX (I thought I had bcc’d a former council member but may have leaked his identity to Ms. Keith, who reports to City Manager Jim Keane as Director of Communications here, since about April, 2013
Claudia Keith or whoever:*
 
I read in council packet that Our Palo Alto has a budget of $325,000. Could you please itemize that figure and or provide a pro forma?
 
Thanks.
 
Mark Weiss
I’ve been to two dates, at Downtown Library and Avenidas
650.XXX-XXXX
 
I posted this to my blog, Plastic Alto:
The Croix de Palo Alto (this was a link in message to Keith)
 
* or edit to add: the reason I sound flippant here (“Claudia Keith or whoever”) is that the email address is “ourpaloalto at city of palo alto dot org” — I don’t like correspondence that does not use an actual name, especially in public sector. And “Claudia Keith” responded to a previous email to that address, I am pretty sure. I spoke with her at the two meetings, as well as Tim Wong, Amy French, Consuelo Hernandez and Stacy formerly of Santa Cruz Patch, a freelancer who reports to  Keith. It is still confusing, even if you read the report in council packet, the relationship between Comp Plan, Housing Element, City Managers Office, Council and private sector and NGO’s.
Related question: why is public sector here a “dot org” and not a “dot gov”?
 
edit to add: I am babbling on here for about 1 minute (edited from about 5 minutes, with Shannon Burkey of City Staff, contract worker in pr) at 3:40 to 4:45 or so:
About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in Plato's Republic and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

