Really young band video shoot at Lytton Plaza

what's my age again?

what’s my age again?

I watched nearly two sets by a very young band Thursday evening at Lytton Plaza. The event started around 6 and probably didn’t load out until 8 or 9. The band was a trio: vocalist, guitarist, hand-drummer. There were at least four videographers. I hung out long enough to learn a wee bit more about this ongoing project, and may write about it. As I told one of the moms, I’ve seen a lot of bands.

Jim Keene shot some footage of this event, happening by on his jog (unlike me, he is tethered to the web, even when recreating). I suggested he add this to his feed.

I once booked Blink 182 into the Cubberley Auditiorium, which is now the temporary Mitchell Park library (and I recall, as a freshman, and probably a virgin, going to a high school dance in that very room, years before that). Blink 182 were in their late twenties at the time, but sang songs about what is is like or might be like or was like for them being 15 or 16. When I was 14 and a rising freshman Andy Zenoff and I hitched a ride with Heather Blum, a junior or senior at Los Altos, to Day on the Green. We were teens or pre-teens trying to look or act like we were of age.

It’s interesting to me the varying roles of parents and children in these situations, apropos of rock and roll, which after all is about sex. And drugs.

Your mama don’t dance and your daddy don’t rock and roll.

Buddy Holly and the roller rink, as depicted by Gary Busey.

Parent bands, who play to raise money for the privatization of their children’s public schools.

School of Rock, Palo Alto, a franchise of not the Paul Green organization but something managed by Sterling Assets I think it was according to Wiki. I had just met earlier in the week Hansel Grant sitting two tables over at Coupa, and told him that in 2005 I tried to get Paul Green to work with me to turn Draper’s Music into a combination studio and school, but that my impetus was to save jobs or create jobs for working musicians, beyond doing something for kids per se.

Lytton Plaza, whose ban on amplifiers, during business hours, was pushed by a man whose firm stands to make millions, tens of millions or hundreds of millios, or already has on…wait for it…Go Daddy.

I worry — although it is none of my business — even if it takes a village — that the three 11 year olds working their way thru Green Day, White Stripes and Led Zeppelin — are doing it to please daddy and help daddy towards his next ten million to hundred million payout, however that actually works. Certainly that is more true than the sign that said that all the money collected that night by busking (people dropping a dollar into a bucket in front of the stage, near the fountain) would help poor starving artists or  children in East Palo Alto.

How did you pay for your rock and roll lifestyle? Is it you or your parents in this income tax bracket?

Maybe I’m a cynic. Or maybe I will have an opportunity to amend and soften my views on this band, or phenomenon.

YOU need coolin’.

edit to add: spurring me on here, although I do feel like I am exercising some restraint here, is that I heard what to me at least is a lesser Weezer joint, almost a chestnut, on Live 105 this a.m. on my way to my Friday morning breakfast club, “Beverly Hills”. That is not in the repertoire of the above-referenced young band, a literal baby band, as far as I know. Here is, if not the lyrics, something of it’s meaning, according to Rivers Cuomo:

“I was at the opening of the new Hollywood Bowl and I flipped through the program and I saw a picture of Wilson Phillips. And for some reason I just thought how nice it would be to marry, like, an “established” celebrity and live in Beverly Hills and be part of that world. And it was a totally sincere desire. And then I wrote that song, Beverly Hills. For some reason, by the time it came out—and the video came out—it got twisted around into something that seemed sarcastic. But originally it wasn’t meant to be sarcastic at all.”

I also started to describe my frustration and cynicism here to Maya Ford, who from age 15 to 30 or so and counting perhaps is or was a rockstar, sitting on her parents’ porch, in Downtown North, sipping red wine and waiting for the power to come back on, if that is not a metaphor for something here. She flashed to The Strokes and the idea of whether class-origin works against authenticity in rock. (As in, can rich kids rock? What are they rebelling against? What if Marlon Brando in “the Wild Ones” had a trust fund, or a generation skipping trust? The one who said “What are you rebelling against, what have you got?). This doesn’t fit here at all but I’d kinda like to see Maya Ford doing a few Marlon Brando speeches as performance art, maybe to music, by her dj. Which reminds that the person who sold me my smartphone for the major label t-comm firm, is named Angelique Paramoure, or so she claims, and runs an open mic in San Jo Japantown that I wouldn’t mind checking out. Also I ran into Tommy Jordan (the Tah of Luaka Bop Geggy Tah) earlier in the week then invited him to play hand drums at Lytton Plaza and he called me back from the highways to take a rain check. Despite claiming, above, that I watched every pitch of Tim Lincecum’s 113-pitch masterpiece Wednesday, I did chase after a dude wearing a Luaka Bop jeans-jacket and give him props. This of all posts deserves not just an outro but a soundtrack so check back for my edita.

edit to add, a few minutes later, after, ironically enough, trading fathering and sonning stories with a dear friend via telephone: my favorite line, phrase or thought from a band bio — and I have a collection of about 500, plus files or clips on another 2,000 to 4,000 bands and artists — was written by Nick Traina, the teenage son of novelist Danielle Steele, for Link 80. The bio says: some people think we have soul doubt. Which is a pun on “sold out”. I had no idea who Nick from Link 80 actually was, until after he died. I doubt that this info will end up in the above-pictured band’s bio, unless it is much worse than it appears, my comment on the tip jar and the HedgeFund/IPO/ExitStrategy/Play: (this is from the website of one of the Dad’s company, and it is my assertion that the band is just one more asset for the firm, or each of the Dads’ three firms, to manage, thusly:

Such companies are also chronically overlooked by Wall Street. Wall Street coverage is positively correlated to a company’s market capitalization, leaving smaller-cap stocks with less coverage and greater opportunity for mispricing. “Closet indexing” by institutional investors increases the focus on the large cap stocks that make up substantial portions of popular benchmarks. Institutional investors often spend little effort researching micro-cap and small-cap opportunities because of their limited impact on major indices. This lack of coverage allows disciplined investors with in-house research capabilities such as {My second guess, the Guitarists’ Dad’s Firm, in Palo Alto on Uni; I thought the balding, aggressive Waspy dude was the VC, the videographer mentioned to me} to buy stocks that trade for less than their intrinsic value.

edit to add, two weeks and one sightem later: trumped by “Unlocking The Truth“, a Brooklyn-based group of 8th graders signed to Sony, on Warp Tour, played Coachella.

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in music, Plato's Republic, sex and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Really young band video shoot at Lytton Plaza

  1. Dear Friend says:

    Sonning and fathering is complicated. But, if we do our best, then all will turn out alright.

    Regarding Plato, I wish I had visited Plato’s Retreat in its heyday.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Plato%27s_Retreat

Leave a Reply

