Me-too ‘Happy’ about smart

Quick enough on the camera and then type in my email function, shortcuts or no

Quick enough on the camera and then type in my email function, shortcuts or no

At 9:10 on Monday, I am reading the Times in the common room of my apartment complex. I notice the chart on Downloads. Katy Perry number one, Pharrell Williams “Happy” number two. I suddenly am reminded that as of a very few number of days, I have a smart phone. How hard would it be to punch a few buttons and hear that song?

Pretty simple.

(Even if I only know how to use about 2 percent of my phone and only about a third of what I could do, for the last several years, on my Stupid (flip) Cell Phone).

I am the 343 millionth person to stream this video.

It occurs to me that the young(er) man I passed on the way here busting a move was probably listening to the same song.

By 9:20 I will complete this post (not likely to be seen by 343 million; maybe not 343).

I am meaning to go back to hard copy of Times and read about BitTorrent. Earlier today I found an abandoned 2/7ths copy of same Times and tore a clip about a bookstore in Morningside Heights fighting the organization of its five employees.

In terms of skill of video making, I prefer Cake “Long Jacket” and or Feist “One Two Three” or whatever, with the French or Canadian choreographer.

(also, I’ve already mentioned I had upgraded a couple months back to fairly powerful laptop by leading trendy brand, on my birthday, thanks to dad and GF)

edit to add: I did see this last night, but didn’t bite, until I saw Randy McMullen in the Merc site talk about it: the “Tacky” parody of “Happy”. Reminds me that a few years ago Aisha Tyler was an account rep at J.Walter Thompson Sf and I called on her, to pick up a vhs of her stand-up set. I wasn’t really booking comedy but thought about it. I recall being sort of grossed out by a bit about, how you say, nasal discharge. Also: Kevin Ryan the owner of Green Apple claims that I overlapped with Margaret Cho there, in 1991, but we must have just missed each other. And despite being impressed by his “twerking” in this video this is not the worst place to pass on condolences to him for the loss of his father in law, Charlie Haden. Somewhere I have Tanya Haden’s phone number on the back of a cardboard coaster, with a smiley face 0. I was just cruising’ for potential clients, honest. Too bad I didn’t have a proto-Twerk, or would that have been tacky? I recall, on our second chance meeting giving Ms. Haden — did I almost write or even think Tanya Harding? — a cassette copy of early The Negro Problem based on her saying she liked squeeze box and that band, pre-Heidi, featuring on accordion Jill Meschke. Me-too happy enough, you betchske.

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in media, music and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

