I and Thou, 1 Borges y Yo, 0

http://www.amazon.com/I-Thou-Martin-Buber/dp/1578989973

 

http://www.amazon.com/Borges-Selected-Non-Fictions-Jorge-Luis/dp/0140290117

 

(I read “Borges Y Yo” in Spanish 3 at Dartmouth, in its original Argentine; was my professor named Russell? And I found it recently, in English, at a good used book store near the Plaza in Santa Fe, New Mexico, which is part of the U.S., one of my favorite parts actually)

(I have a copy of “I and Thou” on my shelf but I admit I have not gotten very far with it — wonder what Freud would say about that)

See also:

“Matador” tv show, “the Moe Berg of Soccer” some wag says, starring Tony Bravo, who is either fictional or real, close enough for Plastic Alto.

master spy and srtriker tony bravo

master spy and srtriker tony bravo

 

Not to be confused with Paul Bravo, real enough, born in Campbell, played for Foothill College, Santa Clara and MLS, who did train with Brazilians, if that is enough to raise an eyebrow at NSA (not NASL)

Not to be confused with Paul Bravo, real enough, born in Campbell, played for Foothill College, Santa Clara and MLS, who did train with Brazilians, if that is enough to raise an eyebrow at NSA (not NASL)

 

The Merc also had a nice story about social media and Copa Mundial, which I should read into as follow up to my paen to World Cup Buzz the App.

I am repeating for emphasis: gotze cup?!

And I want to drag into this brouhaha the German stamp: they ran either five million of these or five million dollars worth, and were prepared to pulp them, make them a pulp fiction.

welt Meister sounds like a cold cream

welt Meister sounds like a cold cream

I also want to suss out the thing about “Bad Moon Rising” adapted to song by Argentinians; is that the same thing in Jere Longman “Your daddy is in the house/You have relinquished control to an authority figure”?

And: do White Stripes get any bounce from “7 Nation Army” being so ubiquitous?

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in media and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

