All the young dudes, at Lytton

lyttonPlazaWhizKid

I caught, for the third time, the young band that performs and creates video content at Lytton Plaza.

A guy I met who moved here from Ivory Coast 20 years ago and has an 11-year-old himself congratulated or gave well-wishes to the young singer’s mother, who accepted the attention with aplomb.

Set list: Knocking on Heaven’s Door, Green Day, Sweet Child of Mine — I didn’t hear any Zep this time. Are they mellowing? Also: Blind Melon sung and probably written by a heroine overdose, but the bumble bee video is probably catnip to 11-year-olds.

edit to add, minutes later: I guess I’m stereotyping to write that Shannon Hoon died of a heroin overdose. It was cocaine, in Houston, at age 28, the day he was supposed to continue on to Tipitinas in New Orleans the big easy. Blind Melon the name is supposedly a Cheech and Chong reference. Their debut album was produced by Rick Parashar who I recall having lunch with once in SF, on the invite of Sybil Vain, a.ka. April Deveraux another Parashar product — I think she was on a bill with Billy Nayer Show at Bottom of the Hill; I remember she wrapped her very long microphone cord around my neck mid-song, which made me blush and I had to take off my fleece jacket, and she stayed on our Earthwise mailing list for awhile but I never worked with her or saw her again, or heard from the band, for that matter. Blind Melon broke slightly before I started really following the scene. I wonder what the bumble bee little girl is up to know – I presume, for example, she is not the mother of the young singer pictured above. Hoon sang back-up on Guns N Roses, btw.

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in music, Plato's Republic and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

