Save us, George Willard

I mean, Jack Burden.

http://www.amazon.com/All-Kings-Robert-Penn-Warren/dp/B001C2E3LW

 

That’s funny, I just name-checked (and vowed to re-read) Winesburg, Ohio on my blog:
Web Link

Palo Alto needs a George Willard to get to the bottom of what is going on here; not sure how close to that I can come; I’m either running for Council to spice up my blog, or writing a blog to forward my campaign. Plan B would be, if not elected, to grow my blog to compete more seriously with…Palo Alto Weekly .

Looking forward to reading more Nick Taylor (sounds like a Hemingway character name, or a Hammett…)

I take this as an omen…almost makes up for being basically dissed by GS of the Weekly.

Some earlier Andre Dubus 3 sit on my desk unread, although I am fixing to re-read Broken Vessels about his father’s demise. I recall sitting on the lawn, with Star Teachout, waiting for Dubus II to show up only to learn, from a note on the door, that he had taken ill (and soon after we learned that he had died).

Robert Penn Warren is also calling out to me, All The King’s Men.

Those who don’t re-read the classics enough are condemned to live thru them.

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in media, Plato's Republic, words and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

