Lense wars, Weiss v. Weber

Veronica Weber, photo by Mark Weiss, using a Samsung flip phone, 2012

Veronica Weber, photo by Mark Weiss, using a Samsung flip phone, 2012

I warned Veronica Weber, in fall 2012, not to do me like the (fictional) press did the Jimmy Stewart character in “Mr. Smith Goes to Washington” (they ran pictures of him doing bird-calls).

As insurance, I snapped this from my Stupid Cell Phone.

Meanwhile, next to a kind of  back-handed announcement of my candidacy of Palo Alto City Council, they re-ran this picture of me. I actually think they ran a picture of me looking into space, to over-emphasize my Aquarian nature. (The other five candidates, in 2012, were depicted looking straight-on into camera).

I told Veronica that I wasn’t going to sit for her at all this time around. Plastic Alto competes with the Weekly, and seeks to surpass it some day. (By covering Palo Alto without a pro-developer bias, and without 60 pages of realtor ads).

I went thru a reporter training program with the Peninsula Times Tribune, at Lytton and Ramona, in 1984. Things have never been the same here, since the demise of the PTT. Even with three local rags.

Goodbye, Fourth Estate, we hardly knew you.

I'm not sitting for Veronica Weber of the Weekly at all this time around, 2014

I’m not sitting for Veronica Weber of the Weekly at all this time around, 2014

edit to add, the next day: As I mentioned in an email to a local residentialist activist and blogger: will it make a difference now that I have upgraded to Ludditte (and Jerry Mander-in) to MacBook Pro and Motorola Droid smartphone? I will update with new picture of Veronica, next time she wanders into range.

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in media and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

