NEWS FLASH: WEISS PICKS UP 1,400 MORE VOTES IN CONTINUED TALLY

Casting 1 of 5,79 residentialist votes for Mark Weiss, new residentiaist of Palo Alto

Casting 1 of 5,749 residentialist votes for Mark Weiss, new residentiaist of Palo Alto

Wow. I had been telling people, for about two years, that I garnered 4,300 votes in the 2012 Palo Alto City Council race. (I came in sixth, with four seats open). But I just noticed, on SmartVoter, that as of December 17, of that year, that is, more than a month after the results were announced, that I am now credited with 5,749 votes, still not enough to be seated but about a third better than I had thought.

Thanks, people. I did sense that this Residentialist thing (started by Enid Pearson in the 1960s, re-booted by Tim Gray and Mark Weiss in 2012) had some momentum.

Right on.

Power to the People!

(This was triggered by meeting Ken Dauber today and him telling me that he got 15,000 votes for School Board. A glance at the Weekly’s coverage of the election had it more like 12,000 — I will have to double-double-check to figure out if Ken, who I do like, or want to like, and learn from, is exaggerating or his numbers, in defeat jumped as dramatically as mine did. I’m also thinking of Russ Cohen, who works in Palo Alto as admin for Palo Alto Downtown Business group but lives in Burlingame and I had thought I read that he was elected to Council there but recently told me he had lost in tight race. This is all so Dewey Beats Truman to me. Also, Steve Cohen, son of Paul J. Cohen, the Fields Prize winner, of The Flying Cohen Brothers, Down With Gravity, The Dancing Twins, he ran for Mayor of San Francisco in 1992 — I was his campaign manager; he ran as a registered-write-in candidate and was credited with 2 votes (two); despite the fact that at least three of us, Steve, myself and another Gunn classmate I think it was Many Mir, said and swore we voted for him. A fifty-percent undercount! I think I later read that the city of SF’s clerk later was fired for incompetence or forced out. I also remember, if you are down this rabbit hole still, rushing back and forth at City Hall SF trying to keep Steve on the ballot, and I ran into Quentin Kopp in the elevator and I tried to explain to him, literally an elevator pitch, what Steve and I were doing, why, and how he could help us, with this obvious injustice and red-tape and Quentin, who I knew from Dartmouth events, and his son Shep is a classmate, Q looked at me kinda funny and thru gritted teeth said: WE ARE TRYING TO GET FRANK JORDAN ELECTED. He did.)

edit to add: I found the link to SCGOV not just SmartVoter, and indeed I have 5,497. Meanwhile Ken Dauber is right in saying, in such casual settings, that he got fifteen thousand votes. It has him at 14.9. Heidi Emberling got exactly 1,200 more. Keep fighting, bro.

And just because this is a music column that moonlights as a campaign headquarters and not  the other way around I want to shout to Rachel Garlin, the former Harvard basketball star and link to her cover of Bob Dorough cardinality I mean three is a magic number. I’m also thinking Ethan Iverson Bad Plus do the math, something but only because he looks like Dauber.

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in Plato's Republic and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

