Ballot statement take 2 (Mark Weiss for Council in <200 words)

I am running for Council in the tradition of Simitian, Fazzino and Yeh, who were student leaders here and evolved into public service. I graduated from Gunn( 1982) and Dartmouth College (1986) where I was an English major but also read philosophy, history and government. My campaign expands on five years of serious study of and engagement with local policy and the growing sense that leadership does not represent the interests of the citizens, and instead has been significantly undermined by special interests such as commercial real estate developers. Much of my 2012 platform was incorporated into the new Residentialist movement, the referendum on housing, and is consistent with the findings of the Santa Clara Grand Jury 6/16/14  about 27 University. I feel that my qualifications and values best represent the rank-and-file citizens here, especially those who are the product of PAUSD schools or are long-term residents. I also plan to draw significant support from environmentalists, parks advocates and the 40 percent of citizens who rent. I advise my fellow Palo Altans to lean in NOW on the Comp Plan ratification process. Why flush 120 years of history into the Bay for short term gain or greed? https://markweiss86.wordpress.com/category/platos-republic/

Take 3, with pagination and header: Statement of MARK WEISS, Candidate for Member, Palo Alto City Council Occupation: CEO of small business / activist / writer        Age: 50 Education and Qualifications: I am running for Council in the tradition of Simitian, Fazzino and Yeh, student leaders here who evolved into public servants. I graduated from Gunn ( 1982) and Dartmouth College (1986) as an English major who also read philosophy, history and government. My campaign expands upon five years serious study of, and engagement with, local policy, and the increasing sense that leadership does not represent the interests of the citizens, and instead has been significantly undermined by special interests like commercial real estate developers. Much of my 2012 platform was incorporated into the new Residentialist movement, the referendum on housing, and is consistent with the findings of the Santa Clara Grand Jury 6/16/14  about 27 University. I feel that my qualifications and values best represent the citizens here, especially those who are the product of PAUSD schools or are long-term residents. I also plan to draw support from environmentalists, parks advocates and the 40 percent of us who rent. I advise all concerned Palo Altans to help steer the Comp Plan update process. Why flush 120 years of history into the Bay for short term gain or greed? https://markweiss86.wordpress.com/category/platos-republic/

P.S. Donna Grider called me yesterday to say I am confirmed, and sworn in, for the ballot as candidate, member Palo Alto City Council, with 65 signatures on my ballot (up from 30-something in 2012, but short of the 100 needed to trigger a rebate of my filing fee; I got 5,749 votes in 2012, probably need about 9,000 to be seated this time — Aug. 7, 2014).

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in Plato's Republic, words. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

