Sane endorsement, strange interlude

The Sigua Corea Duo, an exclusive for Whole Foods and Earthwise Productions / Plastic Alto, Saturday, August 9, 2014 Palo Alto, California, 2.5 miles from Bing

The Sigua Corea Duo, an exclusive for Whole Foods and Earthwise Productions / Plastic Alto, Saturday, August 9, 2014 Palo Alto, California, 2.5 miles from Bing

I got a tour of 801 Alma from a resident who felt some dissatisfaction with the management of the new PAHC building, based on the perceived lack of community among the resident, who moved in about a year ago.

I popped in on Don Yarkin, the former Cubberley basketball star, in his realtor’s office, and was fortunate to receive his endorsement for my candidacy for City Council. That brings me to about five, in order: Chris Grainger (2009 candidate), Greg Brown (artist, former City Staff), Carol Garsten (home owner, activist, business owner in nearby town) and Norzen Lama (home owner, business owner). Don reminded me that our coach, seven years apart, Hans Delannoy is having a retirement party this month. Also, he suggested that I get my father, Paul E. Weiss, to endorse me. Don said he served on a board with my father at the Jewish Community Center or Jewish Federation. 

I mentioned that I was grateful to Kerry Yarkin his sister, for shouting down a run of trolls on the Weekly website. I said that the Weekly had put me in harm’s way by lumping my candidacy with that of what seemed like a mentally ill man, homeless, who had made ten other tries for office, barely making a dent.

Ten minutes later I greeted Chick Corea and his manager, who I saw in a cameo appearance last night at the Stanford Jazz Workshop faculty all-stars concert; Chick did a rare seven-hand exhibition with he (2), George Cables (2), Fred Hersch (2) and Dena DeRose (1 – she has two hands but could barely squeeze in beside the men, plus she was scatting the vocals.

Dave Sigua, our library staff stalwart, wandered by, coming back from his lunch break, and got a selfie with the piano star, shot by the manager.

Paparazzo shot of Chick Corea and his manager at Whole Foods Palo Alto, August 2014, by Mark Weiss

Paparazzo shot of Chick Corea and his manager at Whole Foods Palo Alto, August 2014, by Mark Weiss

(I admit I eavesdropped a bit before I spotted Dave and invited him into my Beuysian social sculpture, as the two men were discussing two possible documentary film projects about or featuring Chick, meanwhile wolfing down my Whole Foods gumbo). We debated later the merits of bugging him one more time to get him to sign We The People’s copy of The New Crystal Silence, a 2008 Concord cd, in circulation or on hand.

Even though there are thousands of things I could do on jazz (my profession) or politics (my obsession, for next 100 days or so), thanks to Dave I left with three movies and one other cd: Reefer Madness, the Home Musical  (with Kristen Bell), Life of Brian, Thirteen (Evan Rachel Wood) and audio only of Book of Mormon by Parker, Lopez and Stone. I am torn between Moonalice (not really a fan, but curious, about the series, and a good network or campaign as a verb op) and Charlie Chan at Stanford Theatre on Uni. Terry meanwhile has been bit by a Stanford Jazz Festival bug and may weasel her way into Chick’s Bing Thing. 

Jeff and Dave of staff clued me in that now most items have RFD that cost about $1 each but will prevent theft and help manage our holdings. I believe the push for this technology came out the library advisory commission. 

“The leap from having barcodes to having RRD (radio frequency) is less than the leap from stamping books to having barcodes,” according to Sigua, who is also a former St. Francis Lancer football standout. (Yes, Plastic Alto has a weird mix of policy, culture and sports references, in a sometimes very Non-Dewey Decimal system order). 

 

edit to add: The Hans Delannoy Retirement Party is Saturday, August 23, 2014, two weeks away, and probably deserves it’s own treatment at Plastic Alto. I get more mileage out of one career varsity field goal than any player in the history of the sport thanks, hans.

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in film, Plato's Republic, words and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

