Endorsements, encounters, engagement

This is a 40-picture set of images I took with my new Motorola droid, most of which pertains to my Palo Alto City Council candidacy. Check back if this looks like less than 40.

My coach Hans Delannoy endorsed my campaign today.

My coach Hans Delannoy endorsed my campaign today.

I didn't ask Joe for an endorsement but did catch this natural light shot of him, Joe Zirker, on the day before his 90th birthday

I didn’t ask Joe for an endorsement but did catch this natural light shot of him, Joe Zirker, on the day before his 90th birthday

Terry Acebo Davis and Shylow, at Animal Services Palo Alto

Terry Acebo Davis and Shylow, at Animal Services Palo Alto

Megan the mixologist at Lure and Till seemed offended when I jokingly asked if she was Elizabeth Holmes, "the thirty-year-old with the nine-billion-dollar-start-up". I'm not 30! she said.

Megan the mixologist at Lure and Till seemed offended when I jokingly asked if she was Elizabeth Holmes, “the thirty-year-old with the nine-billion-dollar-start-up”. I’m not 30! she said.

My Gunn classmate Richard Freed and I spent a considerable amount of the 1980s and 1990s hanging Paly- and Frisco-style, but no so much in recent years; we chanced into each other at Johnson Park the other day.

My Gunn classmate Richard Freed and I spent a considerable amount of the 1980s and 1990s hanging Paly- and Frisco-style, but no so much in recent years; we chanced into each other at Johnson Park the other day.

Russ Cohen of Palo Alto Downtown, shown here at Cogswell nooner series, asked me not to malign him here; it's true I suffer from Foote-cone-mouth disease..

Russ Cohen of Palo Alto Downtown, shown here at Cogswell nooner series, asked me not to malign him here; it’s true I suffer from Foote-cone-mouth disease..

Terry and I met this charming young lady and her dog, Diego, at Austere, a Swedish themed gallery on Hill Street downtown LA-LA, when we stayed at Ace hotel in July, 2014

Terry and I met this charming young lady and her dog, Diego, at Austere, a Swedish themed gallery on Hill Street downtown LA-LA, when we stayed at Ace hotel in July, 2014

I thought I saw my name WEIS but it actually says 213 W. as in "west" but also the area code for that part of La-La.

I thought I saw my name WEIS but it actually says 213 W. as in “west” but also the area code for that part of La-La.

It actually is Weird Beers of 213 W. Seventh Street.

Devan John runs a 5:10 mile for the Michigan State Spartans but sat for me, kinda sorta, during her internship at Bryant Street Gallery of Palo Alto

Devan John runs a 5:10 mile for the Michigan State Spartans but sat for me, kinda sorta, during her internship at Bryant Street Gallery of Palo Alto

Henry and Rochelle Ford, both of whom have endorsed Mark Weiss for Palo Alto City Council, met in 1953 when he was a star footballer at Pitt and she was, as today, beautiful.

Henry and Rochelle Ford, both of whom have endorsed Mark Weiss for Palo Alto City Council, met in 1953 when he was a star footballer at Pitt and she was, as today, beautiful.

Terry and I met Carmenita Choy at the I-Hotel space in North Beach, where Terry's work hung this summer

Terry and I met Carmenita Choy at the I-Hotel space in North Beach, where Terry’s work hung this summer


Norzen lives and works in Palo Alto and offered to arrange a Tibetan divination about my campaign for Council.

Norzen lives and works in Palo Alto and offered to arrange a Tibetan divination about my campaign for Council.

Barbara Weiss, my mother, was President of the Palo Alto Jewish Community Center and, along with my father Paul Weiss donated a collection of pottery to the DeYoung Museum

Barbara Weiss, my mother, was President of the Palo Alto Jewish Community Center and, along with my father Paul Weiss donated a collection of pottery to the DeYoung Museum

edit to add, October 6: picked up two endorsements, Nancy Packer and Dr. Peter Casini. Thank you! Liz Zitelli already has four signs on her lawn but agreed to put up a Mark Bennett Weiss for City Council. Thanks, Liz. I told Nancy Packer that I’ve been talking about her son George Packer and “The Unwinding” so much that I might as well be selling it out of the trunk of my car. Will check with the local vendors to see if I can get a wholesale rate, and yeah, I would try that, if only to get a blog post out of the story. And in my brain this flashes to: Jim Newton a Paly ’81 to Packer’s Gunn 1978, to appear via Kepler’s interviewing Leon Panetta on Oct. 17. And I did mention to Weiss-endorser the staff attorney or chief attorney for Public Defender of Sf Matt Gonzalez (who wants to be remembered as an artist who dabbled politically) the Bryan Stevenson lecture coming to Kepler’s Nov. 6, two days after (my) election.

Deirdre Crommie 7 years on the Parks Commission and a mensch, thanks for your support!

Deirdre Crommie 7 years on the Parks Commission and a mensch, thanks for your support!

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in art, ethniceities, media, Plato's Republic, sports and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Endorsements, encounters, engagement

  1. Gregory Warren says:

    Hi Mark:

    Nice to connect with you at the reunion. Best wishes before, during and after your campaign for Palo Alto City Council. Don’t forget about Healing of Democracy by Parker Palmer.

    Shalom,

    Gregory Warren (bro of Warner Warren)

    • markweiss86 says:

      Hi, Gregory. Nice meeting you. Too bad we didn’t tap you on shoulder earlier and re-introduce you to Geoff Gibbs, Gunn 1979 who played against Hans and not for him but has been to several of these post-Gunn Hans wing-dings.

      Yes, you sent me home with a reading list; love it!

      I will catch up with you later by email. Thanks for leaning in, to Plastic Alto.

      (Gregory Warren is a Cubberley 1979 and former player of Hans Delannoy who I met for first time at Hans’ retirement banquet Saturday at San Ramon Marriott. His brother Warner Warren was a wrestling star at Gunn, after Cub closed in 1979. I confusedly brought up another Gunn athlete from a bit before either of us, Mark Winston, a running back.

      Meanwhile, I am also now endorsed by Akira Tana, a Gunn 1970 who led Titans as quarterback to a league championship in football, sharing duties, because of his injuries, with Sandy Katz (who sadly, according to Akira, recently is deceased).

      The Warrens, Gregory and Warner, apparently are now both PhDs. Congrats! Sound mind in sound even middle-aged body, the classic ideal.

      I also today picked up the endorsement of Pinay activist civil servant (speaking as individual) Carmenita Choy, of San Francisco, who met Terry Acebo Davis, my girlfriend, when they both were part of a show at I-Hotel San Francisco.

Leave a Reply

