Richard Sherman v. 385 Sherman

wallisParkNearSherman385Ioppose

The quiet enjoyment of humble Palo Alto condo-dwellers, who open their doors to each other each morning and drink tea, is threatened, as is the nearby Sarah Wallis Park, by an over-massive and greedy development at 385 Sherman proposed by Daniel Minkoff and tepidly regulated by ARB including Randy Popp and Clare Malone Prichard, who seem to say “property rights” are protected as people are (Citizens United-style) or that moving in to California Avenue-Ventura 20 years ago is caveat emptor like moving to Weeks Farm in EPA or being a member of the Donner Party 100 years ago.

I prefer Richard Sherman to 385 Sherman.

Richard Sherman actually lived in my building, at Oak Creek — that is, in Palo Alto — part of his senior year at Stanford. I thought he was a good kid. I got immediately his fronting for the tv crew, as distinct from his actual character, and or the animus or anima, the Jungian dark side (we all have, even if we don’t have to chase 49er wideout from Texas up and down the field, in front of a crowd, and the ensuing rush).

No offense or disrespect to Daniel Minkoff, but we don’t detect the soulfulness of Richard Sherman in you.

Maybe we can re-name Sherman in Palo Alto as R. Sherman.

Good luck this season, Richard. Like I said, game like that you deserve a steak not fast food chopped meat patty. (When I met him I calculated phoning over to Harris Steak house a mile or so away and coming back with two steaks and knocking on his door — maybe I can get his endorsement even without the quid pro quo).

edit to add: ARB is, while I write, approving 385 Sherman despite qualms from Birch Court peoples, 5-0, an hour after I write this. I still prefer Richard Sherman to Daniel Minkoff, but I will look forward to updating either here or in my head.Or heart. Richard the Lion I Mean Seahawk Hearted. Minkoff seems a bit…squirrelly? Squirrels with claws certainly, or nails.

and btw my machine wanted to suggest richard shindell as outro but i will refrain hey doc how about a refill or a landfillrich

edit to add, a month later: I saw the Nike commercial, or one of them, about Richard Sherman being the best CB ever; I would bet he is the best CB to have lived in 1788 Oak Creek Drive ever, and I recall him as a nice kid.

Richard Sherman the best ever, to live at 1788 Oak Creek

Richard Sherman the best ever, to live at 1788 Oak Creek

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in ethniceities, filthy lucre, media, Plato's Republic, sports and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

