Schauer / Brown for Michigan 2014

Mark Schauer, Democrat of Michigan, I met in Old Palo Alto and hope to work with or for someday, soon

Mark Schauer, Democrat of Michigan, I met in Old Palo Alto and hope to work with or for someday, soon


as fate would have it, I wandered into a Old Palo Alto fundraiser for Democrat Mark Schauer, who is leading according to polls in his effort to become the next governor of Michigan, and the tie-in here is that he chose Lisa Brown as his running mate (for Lt. Governor – I wrote about her for Plastic Alto two years ago with her sparring the right wing about reproductive rights and her famous “thank you for your interest in my vagina” quip). Meanwhile I am running for Palo Alto City Council (and met Mark while waiting my turn, at a panel of environmentalists — I had walked 1.4 miles there but arrived two hours early and something sent me towards Schauer, as strange as that sounds. I asked a couple questions, based on Reich and Packer, and actually left wanting to work for Mark Schauer in Michigan should he prevail while I falter (or not make as much dramatic progress as I have since 2009, to increase at this rate). I am hoping to break away from Palo Alto to catch up to Schauer and Perkins (his treasurer, also on this junket) in Detroit and maybe Ann Arbor, in October. We also have a plan for me to write a white paper on luring artists to Detroit, or arts funding as stimulus spending. More to come. Mark reminds me of Buddy Teevens, the Dartmouth coach and former QB. Mark went to Abion College in Michigan(the Britons), with advanced degrees from Western Michigan and MSU Sparta. I sent the previous version of above to him, but truthfully, maybe I could have crafted a tighter version. Michael Moore (“Roger and Me”) did a benefit for him.

Meeting Mark Schauer inspired me such that I crushed my interviews, apropos of my strive for office in Palo Alto, with the environmentalist panels and local Democrats.

Although I claim to have lived in Palo Alto community since 1974 it’s also true that I was born in Chicago and feel some connection to Michigan. More on Mark Sch later.

Mark Z. Barabak in the Los Angeles Times:
Michigan: Gov. Rick Snyder romped to victory in 2010, thanks in part to a cheeky ad campaign that portrayed him as “one tough nerd” and promised to bring a business sense to state government. He has taken on unions and other Democratic constituencies in this solidly blue state and organized labor is itching to oust him. Snyder’s Democratic challenger is former U.S. Rep. Mark Schauer.

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in media, Plato's Republic, sex, this blue marble, words and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

