Jacob Jeffries, Sun Kings, Deerhoof, Gregg Rolie mix

TAYLOR HO BYNUM OR !TAYLOR HO! FREE CONCERT AT LYTTON PLAZA SATURDAY, SEPTEMBER 20, 2014 1 P.M. PRESENTED BY EARTHWISE PRODUCTIONS RIDE YOUR BIKE TODAYS POST SPONSORED BY

I would think “Helter Skelter” and not “Come Together” would be the theme for this event.

Actually I had spoken to a member of the SF-based art-rock band Deerhoof about possibly doing a show here to dedicate the famous/infamous Bruce Beasley arch here, at Mitchell Park library. Will look into that.

Another one in my dreamcatcher if not in my daybook per se yet: we had Leo Herrera Paly class of 1968 doing his Santana Tribute “Caravanserai” this summer on Cali Ave: what about getting Gregg Rolie, a former Cubberley Student, who was founding member of both Santana Band and Journey, to play Cali Ave next summer when all the construction is finally over.

Also, Greg Brown about a year before he died told me he found in his archives an Old Davis flyer he had designed from that same era, late 1960s. When I called him back, he couldn’t find it. Old Davis, further research shows was a Neal Schon (and probably not Gregg Rolie) project, back in the day.

Also, I ran into Paul De Barros, a Cubberley 1964 recently up at Zot’s. He had rode his bike there from the old family home. He is a jazz writer for the Seattle Times but said that in 1964, “before the Beatles” he was a rock and roll saxophonist, and had his first gig there, in Zot’s (now called Alpine Inn).

To mark that occasion, Tim Harris and I had some burgers that also seemed pre-Beatles, or at least very last week, Billy Corgan.

Jacob Jeffries closes out the PADBID/Ali Williams Cogswell Plaza not just Brown Bags nor Brown Act Naturally nooner null set click to picks today in about a half hour:

I’m having a bahn mi sandwich from Three Seasons not pizza and its Jacob not Charli but check this meanwhile, prompted by Caramanica of the Times:

Deerhoof is the best band that I’ve never seen. I love them I love them I love them but I am afraid to see them, like Schoedinger’s cat or the grecian urn in that I don’t want to wear them out.

or, because there is a tempting full page in the Times, The Beatles in Mono, comp lee set for $199 or 180 gram vinyl

http://www.amazon.com/The-Beatles-Mono-Complete-Recordings/dp/B002BSHXJA

I am zipping over there on either a purple Schwin or an elephant six;meanwhile reads this
Back in September, we reported the (literally) mind-boggling news that Apples in Stereo frontman Robert Schneider had invented a new instrument, the Teletron, that you basically play with your mind. (Or, in Schneider’s own words, it’s “a circuit-bent Mattel MindFlex toy that enables you to play a Moog synthesizer by varying your thoughts.”) Last week, Schneider debuted an original Teletron composition written by Neutral Milk Hotel mastermind and notable recluse Jeff Mangum. (Thanks to James Hindle for the tip.)
In a statement, Schneider explained that he and noise musician Robert Beatty (Hair Police, Three Legged Race, Ulysses) performed Mangum’s Teletron piece with Duke University’s Dr. Marc Sommer during Dr. Sommer’s neuroscience class last week. “Jeff has been generating collage art and experimental music since we were teenagers, so he was a natural composer for the Teletron,” Schneider said. So, how exactly does one go about composing music for something like the Teletron? We’ll let Schneider take this one over:
“A Teletron score is a collage-like sequence of opposing pages, where the right page speaks to the left side of the brain, which is more logical, and the left page speaks to the right brain, the intuitive side. Two opposing images are to be understood by the reader as a single thought or statement. The images are also projected for the audience to view. The melody played by the synthesizers is completely based on the conductor’s thoughts, while Robert and I adjust the Moog filters to taste, each of us playing the role of one side of the brain and reading only one side of the score. Finally, the synthesizers are sent through stereo speakers set up to feed the sounds to corresponding hemispheres of the listeners’ brains.”
As of now, plans for a repeat performance of Mangum’s score, or whether it’ll ever see official release, are “TBD”. Schneider will perform with his Teletron, as well as 3D visuals of the projected images, as “Robert Schneider and colleagues” at the AUX Festival, which goes down next week, May 7, in downtown Athens, Georgia.
Oh, and Jeff Mangum’s playing shows again. No big deal or anything.

six hours later: I do have notes on my lunch with Jacob and Jimmy, but first I promised self I would do 40 minutes trying to update my busy schedule:

At Coupa, 5:10 between the 4 p.m. Regional Housing Mandate update and the 6 p.m. open house for candidates on 7th floor with development staff

At Coupa, 5:10 between the 4 p.m. Regional Housing Mandate update and the 6 p.m. open house for candidates on 7th floor with development staff

Fri, Sept 12:
1. HRC retreat at Art Center 9 a.m. and I wrote I would talk about my recent burg in my bonnet.
2. my Friday breakfast klatch will soldier on without me
3. there may be something about the Gunn 50-years-50-classes reunion, like a pre-game BBQ. Thanks, Marie Miller for trying to keep me loopy I mean in the loop.
4. Gunn hosts Carlmont at 7 and I think I am covering this for the Weekly, having discussed this with Keith Peters (a Gunn 1968) for an hour yesterday. I have a CCS field pass. #149

Sat, Sept 13
Pacific Art League, 1-4 grand opening
Dracula at Stanford Theatre, 6:05 or 8:45 (the Claw is playing Thursday if something falls off my schedule)

Sun, Sept 14
1. Midtown ice cream social, 1-4 p.m. Hoover Park, but for me that’s more like 12:30 to 2:35>>
2. Michael McFaul World Affairs Council talk at residence in Atherton, 2 tix — with my girlfriend the two-term former Palo Alto Arts commissioner Terry Acebo Davis, check in 2:30, program, 3, reception 4:30 — former U.S. Ambassador to Russian, I met a couple times in 1982 and 1983 when he was at Stanford. Will he remember me? mcFaul event flyer
4. Also, check my email for more Gunn activities
or Black Cat 4:50, Dracula 6:05 or 49ers?

Mon, Sept 15
1.City Council 6 p.m. will have to read packet and if I need a break there is>>
2. Casey Turner presents Jacob Jeffries duo at Osteria in SF, 8ish?

Tues Sept 16
Finance Committee 7 pm

Wed Sept 17
Historic Resources Board 8 a.m.
Pace Gallery opening, Menlo Park, 6 to 9 p.m.

Thurs, Sept 18
1. ARB 8:30
2. City School liaison 8:30 nearby
3. Art commission 7 p.m.
4. Charlie Chan in Honolulu, “Sherlock Holmes versus the Creeper” 7:30

Fri

Mon Sept 22
Rotary Club noon at Elks Club on El Camino, candidate debate
organized by Diana Diamond who also has this painting at the Art League show: very colorful stuff! This is a dete:

color by diana or she comes in colors

color by diana or she comes in colors

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in media, music, Plato's Republic, sex and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

