If I Had A Hammer, Don’t Hurt ‘Em

Sea Reddy at Palo Alto City Council candidates forum, with Lyda Kuo, A.C. Ace Johnston, Wayne Douglass, Hans Gregory Scharff and Nancy Shepherd

Sea Reddy at Palo Alto City Council candidates forum, with Lyda Kuo, A.C. Ace Johnston, Wayne Douglass, Hans Gregory Scharff and Nancy Shepherd


Or: The silver saxophones say I refuse you, PASZ and Measure D considered, with kid gloves

Bottom Line Up Front (BLUF): Keep Council at 9 not 7, but vote for 5 not 3, who do this for love not money and are not realtors or video game or tech corporate suit types. Look for a guy in a 4-cylinder Chevy, or riding his or her bike, and not a guy in a $100,000 Tesla. Wear sunscreen.

wow, what fun, last night. But I admit I kinda merged the two forums in my mind and came in there with NO prepared materials, not even a statement, save the remembered lyrics to “I Wish I Knew How It Feels To Be Free” the Nina Simone song, which, in fact I worried that if I brought the lyrics Sheri would come running to podium and yank them from my hands, and I would pull out another like in a Groucho Marx skit.

Coincidentally I had linked to Puzzling Evidence, back in June: seems oddly to fit, in my mind (mentions “silicon valley” at 100 sec).
And I am writing, as we speak, 500 words on, as I call it “9>7 v. 3>5, $”.

See you tonight, tonight, and tomorrow.

Hey Tom if I ask a dagger question Tues it won’t be directed at you. {I will ask Scharff about MLK and Nelson Mandela}. If I ask a softball question I won’t write it until 5 minutes before my turn, FYI. Feel free to fire away or feed me as you wish. Good luck, Mark Weiss

Sounds good. Thanks.

Hope you appreciated the juicy pitch.

Thanks. Now I have to write 500 words on PASZ w. 9/7 w. $?. Or what I call puzzling evidence/thick as a brick {I had said that believing PASZ Palo Altans for Sensible Zoning or what I call Self-Serving Palo Altans For Self-Service will be sufficient to stop the billion dollar per year special interest of commercial real estate developers was like “building a castle with not enough bricks”}

Locomotive breath?

Did the Establishment ask you to run as a stalking horse? {I was mostly kidding, will get to, hereabouts}

Who framed Roger (Smith) rabbit? (Roger Smith, who I like, is the guy behind the 9 to 7 initiative or at least is their spokesman; I believe it was put on by current council and not, significantly, citizens per se, how it got on the ballot. Roger has spoken in public forums, oral communications, at least twice, that I’ve seen, while Vic Ojakain, meanwhile, has spoken, quite effectively against it and for the status quo of 9 council not reduction to 7. Many believe that the switch is to prevent a majority of “residentialists”. It is a power grab or preservation of power and unwilling to yield. It is like the switch from 2011 to 2012 odd to even elections, which some, and myself, feel was somehow a vehicle to time with Liz Kniss being termed out of County. Meanwhile and perhaps related, others feel, or some of the same, and maybe I am out of bounds to go there here, A.C. Ace Johnston, the managing partner of Morrison and Foerster Law firm, or MoFo, was he drafted by Kniss, Liz and Richard, to run specifically so that The Establishment has a lawyer in the room at all times — like in that PBS documentary on football head injuries, it played again just last night, they said that having a lawyer and not a doctor at all the health forums, on CTE chronic traumatic encephala or TBI traumatic brain injury was to cover their interests and not further the debate per se).

I also posted, last night, while watching the PBS, and maybe Tom Dubois, who I may end up voting for, went to asleep:

South (palo alto) Park.
{I was thinking about Trey Parker and Stone’s “Book of Mormon” the Broadway show I only know of via a cd I borrowed and is now overdue from Palo Alto library — I wanted to come up with amusing ways to critique these events. Overall, I feel they are meta-issues and secondary to the bigger issues like protecting the Comp Plan and not gutting it.

Vote No on Measure D (keep council at 9. Nine is fine).
Vote Yes on B — raise the TOT tax to fund services. Greg Schmid asked me to endorse and I said yes in about two seconds.

I may go to PASZ meeting tonight on Orme Street. I knew some of the Orme’s my classmate. There is also right before another or the last training or orientation for we wannas by City Manager Jim Keane and staff.

I guess I can tape the Giants-Pirates playoff. I went to Planning and Transportation meeting the night Pablo Panda Sandoval hit 3 home runs, and recall hearing about the game from Gennady Sheyner of the Weekly.

If you are a first-time reader of Plastic Alto and came here specific-like because you were at the Candidates’ forum and heard me say “read my blog” I admit this is stylistic and kind of ramble like and yeah this would take about 8 minutes to read not 1.

I will edit to add to gloss the 20 “tags”. (Peter Yarrow?)

The headline references not “Puzzling Evidence” by Talking Heads but both “If I had a Hammer” the Peter Paul and Mary song and “Can’t Touch This” or the album “Hammer, Don’t Hurt “‘Em” by MC Hammer also known as Stanley Kirk Burrell, who Reggie Jackson Mr. October said looks like Hank “The Hammer” Aaron. See it all fits, that’s sort of what I was going for. Outro is Artie from Glee:

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in ethniceities, media, music, Plato's Republic, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

