Taking charge with Rich Kelley

rich kelley left and mark weiss right or vice versa

rich kelley left and mark weiss right or vice versa

Rich Kelley, a Woodside resident and former NBA and Stanford basketball player, said he would not endorse me but agreed to pose still for a selfie, the au courant exchange.

It helped that I name dropped Bud Presley and made a metaphor of taking the charge against the developers rather than stepping aside and letting them go past for easy lay ins, like we have for the last 20 quarters or so.

His father was the famous real estate man Ryland Kelley, but was also a poet and promoter of local musicians, like Freddy Clarke of Wobbly World. I saw them at CoHo.kelley

“Don’t call me sir” he said as he galloped off into the morning. “Rich!” I yelled back. He made it sound like he would check up on me and maybe might call back with an endorsement. Definitely one of the more memorable nine minutes in this five year process of civic engagement. I caught up to him a block ahead and arrived breathing hard, which he said threw him off at first.

I name checked my coach Hans Delannoy who opposed Rich in the 1970 SPAL semifinals, and Nick Peterson, his former teammate now my neighbor or Terry’s rather in Downtown north. Nick and Hans both endorse me and have my shingle on their respective abodes.

Reminds that I should check back with Jason Peery the former Pinewood player and current Pinewood coach, from a prominent family I met at his yard sale, or his wife’s more likely. Nice guy, said he would probably vote for me on the basketball count. Did I mention I was a reserve small forward on a 25-3 League champ and CCS runner-up Gunn Titan team?

edit to add, and reposted four months later: Yes, I lost the election but just as the guy who gets a lot of talking points out of four total varsity points for the champion Titans, I talk up the 2,100 or so who voted for me, that we, as a group, could change the world, and all that. Meanwhile, speaking of Bud Presley, Hans and I saw his plaque at the San Mateo County Sports Hall of Fame and coach Del struck the pose:

Hans Delannoy, 2015

Hans Delannoy, 2015

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in media, Plato's Republic and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Taking charge with Rich Kelley

  1. markweiss86 says:

    Reblogged this on Plastic Alto with Mark Weiss and commented:

    Legends of the SPAL: Hans Delannoy w. Rich Kelley

Leave a Reply

