Dartmouth’s in town again

Thirty-two years later my 86 Shirt fits pretty well

Thirty-two years later my 86 Shirt fits pretty well

Dartmouth plays Holy Cross in Hanover, New Hampshire at 12:30 Eastern time today, Saturday, October 18, 2014 but myself and a group of faithful will huddle at The Patio, also known as Rudy II and Fanny and Alexander’s to watch a mediated version.

edit to add, an hour later:
Gadzooks! ShozBot! Dartmouth- Holy Cross has apparently been bumped by Harvard-Lafayette (?!) so there is no Indian presence here at the Patio, just Briana nursing a cold and longing for East Texas fireflies on a cool fall dusk. James Von Rittman the Dartmouth club events guy should chug. (I left him a voice mail claiming I was in a ruckus with a roomful of Holy Cross types; when I was a freshman and Dartmouth was at Harvard we were told than any two Dartmouth me could whup any three Harvardians, accept at the hockey dorm; Bob Anderson and I — Sarah’s dad, a ’62, had a nice chat about “tradition” if that makes wearing my Ol’ 86 worth the trouble.)

For what its worth I like Tennessee and 17 against Ole Miss in honor of Charlie Young ’88. And the Tar Heels over the YellowJackets, and Mizzou over Florida even if that starts a fight between my cousins RyMo and his sister Jen (who is from Missouri, shook her pompons at Vandy, settled in Atlanta, but is married to a Floridian but truth be told I forget who are Seminoles and who are Gators, so this, like sitting at 10:15 on a Saturday by myself in an empty sports bar, may be moot or at least mooted.

Jah bless. Shabbat shalom. Or in this case, for RW: Shozbot shalom.

edit to add, miles to go before I sleep: Dartmouth hung on to win 24-21 in what must have been a humdinger. James of the Dartmouth Club called back to explain that the event was cancelled because only 2 people RSVP’d. But the lone Crusader and myself had a nice long chat on football and fatherhood and head injury and I bought him a beef binh ma from Miss Tam (but not Tram, although I did leave a voice mail for Dao Strom) and he owes me that plus one on the account of our gentleman’s bet on this game. Meanwhile, although Stanford lost (without Cajuste), I picked winners in Mizzou and Tar Heels (although looks like Ole Miss Butch Make It Look EZ covered against the Vols).

Jim Mahon and Mark Weiss Palo Alto and ex-Worcesterites, 2014 slefies

Jim Mahon and Mark Weiss Palo Alto and ex-Worcesterites, 2014 slefies

My man the former Holy Cross linebacker reminded me of a detective from Jonathan Lethem Motherless Brooklyn and or Sam Spade (but not the Bogie version) and most importantly the Continental Op. He’s James Mahon the San Bruno based attorney I hope he does not mind me blowing his cover. See ya around, Jim! Good story about epidemiology. We could have taped that whole thing for a “My Dinner with Andre” type thing.

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in ethniceities, media, sex, words and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

