Vale endorses Weiss

updated, three years later: I changed the headline of this because I did not complete my thoughts about the connection between tactics that political operatives use and dumb luck. There’s a lot here to edit but I am leaving most of it intact. I am making too casual and callous reference to a tragic case that brought real pain to people, I’m certain. Thank you belatedly to the people who offered me encouragement during my political endeavors, and in some cases for their friendship and kindness. 

 

The Lawrence Eagle Tribune won a Pulitzer for its coverage of Massachusetts furlough program; previously I had posted some links to the case (the media coverage of, the use by Bush campaign)

 

Late on Monday night, which is like a Sunday night since Terry and I were on vacation for the weekend, I get a note from V. Vale the famous journalist and impresario who says yes he will endorse me. Kinda weird since I wrote him back in September, early.

Vale published ReSearch and a cool email newsletter. I had been reading his stuff for years, like the Swing! anthology and things I’ve peered at but were afraid to buy — like when I worked at Green Apple, — that plus Steve Cohen either lent me or gifted me a punk on pranks. Book, that is. Stet.

A couple years ago I sent a phoner report to the good people at Goldenvoice, about the public auction of Fox Theatre in Redwood City — to David Lefkowitz office, and his assistant in reciprocation guest listed Terry and I to see Devo at Regency Ballroom and there we met and kinda hung with Vale. Occasionally he reprints a statement or comment I said him in his newsletter.

Not sure how many people this endorsement swings in Palo Alto but it means something to me. Also, in my previous two cycles, 2009 and 2012 I did not seek endorsements; this time I am trying to enhance the Weiss campaign as social sculpture experience.

I think I am up to 30 or more, although I admit I didn’t log every endorsement I received, which is, I admit, kinda lame. And it would be good to garner a “yes” from current or recent current past Palo Alto elected (some of them said they will vote for me but short of endorsements).

Brian Moore meanwhile my Dartmouth classmate says he is sending me an article that says endorsements don’t actually sway voters. Brian’s political claim to fame is that he was Larry Giordano’s aid and was the one who found the loophole in Massachusetts that permitted Willie Horton to commit a crime while on furlough. Giordano was instrumental in fixing this problem but the clever and motivated Republicans found a way to use this to defeat Michael Dukakis and elect George Bush. So blame Brian Moore, now a Springfield , Illinois neuro-pathologist, for Bush 1 and Bush 2. (Have you heard: the road to hell is paved with good intentions?)

I asked Vale to send me a photo he would have shot in the punk heyday, at Mabuhay, to post in this article. I saw a group of such recently at Paule Anglim Gallery. At the party for that show, I shot the crowd with a disposable camera and then ran a few blocks to a one-hour photo, then eventually returned to the party and gifted some guests, including Vale, with some prints, whatever that proved, it was kinda fun.

Today I spend an hour with a cool guy named Don Wallis of SLO, a poet, playwright and puppeteer.

 

I saw Vale at a Bruce Conner show: this photo is by Conner:

photo by conner

photo by conner

 

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in media, Plato's Republic and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

