Weiss spurs jangle jingle

A musician and composer sent me this 14 second performance that I hope people listen to apropos of my campaign for Palo Alto City Council. A young person named Daphne who lives near East Meadown and Arbitus (her mom is named Karen), said it sounds like Joanna Newsom, which is a compliment. For background you might want to know that in the first semester of the 8th grade, at Terman Middle School in Palo Alto, I put up a bunch of flyers that said WHEN YOU ROLL THE DICE IT COMES UP WEISS, was indeed elected student body president and later Ms. Jean White my homeroom teacher for 7th grade and our Vice Principal gave me Terman Student Council Award.

By the way, in terms of a blog post title or headline “spur” above means, according to online version of Merriam-Webster, to encourage someone to do or achieve. As in, I spurred the singer, clarinet player, bandleader and social activist to create this wondrous 14 seconds 12 word ditty, little slice of Americana, piece of our civilization, culture.

Jangle is a term for a type of guitar sound, think Malibu Canyon early seventies late sixties kind of thing, I am drawing blank on actual sound or names: Joni Mitchell type morning, or is it Topanga canyon, I See Hawks In LA more recent version. And yeah I am flirting with some 1940s Americana lyric about a guy and his horse or off his horse, I did gloss or suss it up or “search-injun” it up.

Thanks anonymous musician for your hard efforts on behalf of the free people of Palo Alto. Not sure how to use this. Would KFOG add it? Or KZSU even?

Reminds that my first job out of university (did I mention I went to Dartmouth?), Tom Harbeck the former advisor of the Gunn Oracle (before Kristy Blackburn, was even born) offered me an unpaid internship at Chiat-Day on Maiden Lane, on Worlds of Wonder, Teddy Ruxpin and Lazer Tag and all that. Chiat-Day Holiday card: _ _ bells — we don’t do jingles. Artist and I conversed on whether this was jingle, or ditty or short composition and we stuck with jingle despite the pejorative connotation.

Am also recalling Paul E. Weiss and I touring Jimmy Carter Library with my Dartmouth roommate G. Scott Rafshoon, Jerry’s kid, and Scott not able to stop himself from singing along to a Carter for President lick, or lyric, 1992 morphing with 1975.

Not sure how to move it from cellphone email storage to WordPress?

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in music, Plato's Republic and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

