Makeda Best in Palo Alto test, November 6

Makeda Best will lecture in Palo Alto on November 6.

Although I am having a hard time thinking beyond November 4, 2014, when Palo Altans take back our republic from the evil hands of the special interests and dollar-mongers, this is on my scope.

Reminds of a film I saw (most of) at UNAFF last week at Paly New Media center, about history of black images in photo, a film. Harry Davis Allen or something? I was gonna hang out and ask a question or make a comment about: Palo Alto Weekly in 2012 took my portrait, Ms.Webber took about 30 exposures. They ran the one of me looking stage left far into space, next to the look-into-camera portraits of the other five. (I had joked: don’t do me like the bird-call bit in Mr. Smith Goes to Washington!). This year, as I refused to even sit for Ms. Webber, who I actually like, they ran another from the same roll: me, glaring into the camera, under the headline or above the headline “The Agitator” (?!), all the others are smiling. Surely, Bill Johnson publisher and Webber photographer, you have a picture of my normal smiley easy-going (scorpio rising, Ok) self? I said: if I am “the agitator” in the Maytag sense, I am certainly on “gentle-cycle”. I say they are fixing me for an Andrew Goodman “outside agitator” state.

Makeda who I had never seen or heard of before five minutes ago, also reminds me of Makeba. I recall not knowing of Makeba when I wrote about Adrienne Rich “Fact of a Doorframe” for Tom Sleigh’s class at Dartmouth in 1985. And I really didn’t get Makeba until I heard her hiss and grunt for “When We Were Kings” shot in 1974 but released in 2000 or so. Did I read Makeba collapsed on stage during her last show? Or was that Cesaria Evora? I’ve quoted Rich on Makeba before, above.

Makeda Best, related perhaps to Jahvid Best?, I would want to know: Elizabeth Hutchinson also at Columbia Barnard, who was once my date to “Allegria” Cirque de Soleil and did one or two small carving commissions for me, 5751 to our 5775 –yikes!– and Julian Cox, of SFFAM, to her SF MOMA.

total gratuity: typing “elizabeth hutchinson” to my “tags” it suggests: elizabeth warren, elizabeth holmes, elizabeth streb, elizabeth sullivan of PACE gallery.

Makeda also hints at: nozo imanaka, akira tana. I’m so confused. I thought Stanford soccer frosh and Gunn grad Sarah Robinson was Eugene S. Robinson’s child and therefore “black” and not “japanese” or jad-fairish. (typing jad first they want to make it “had” and they “cal trader” or “jade villilon” villilon meanwhile becomes a villain; totally off the tracks: I told Lani Wui, Shannon Elizabeth Clark and “Patty” that I was going to suggest an Elisha Cook Jr Day in Palo Alto as a way to lure David Packard into my dark passage.
makeda

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in art, sex and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

