I am so third

Seven-fifty-six on a Wednesday morning, two hours until my next appointment, lap top open, frothy Capucinno here at Peet’s MP, and I feel like Gale Sayers having juked Kermit Alexander at the fifty staring up at 50 yards of open, open field.

This is the edition I have, or had and read in about 1977.

This is the edition I have, or had and read in about 1977.


Also, the Kevin Kinney line, hot coffee and a full tank of gas, as filtered thru Krissy Durden (if that’s her real name) of KZSU in the 1990s.

And my first date is with a miscellaneous water document, a $50,000 grant from Santa Clara Water District for something, that generated about 20 to 30 pages in my 50 to 100 lbs of documents, council packets.

And after that, w.e.a.t., four for five newspapers, including Brand Chron — for the story about Mellancamp and King — and looking up old friends as Dr. Brian Paaso used to say and GAME 7 of the World Serious (as Ring Lardner you know me al would say) and I would like to break away from the game for 3 minutes to say “rent control” to Planning Commission, if I don’t hook up with good ol’ Andy Dieden my first sports-fan buddy, 1972-74, besides my dad.

And the five books I bought from Palo Alto Library for $six: Politics for Dummies, 2002, Ann DeLaney, Indiana Dems; Thomas Nast, page 103, drew in 1874 an elephant stomping the Tammany Hall tiger. And Andrew Jackson riding a donkey “to support his veto of the U.S. Bank recharter”. Christmas in Plains, by Jimmy Carter, illustrated by Amy Carter, 2001, his 17th book and I recall as a freshman at Dartmouth in 1982 fall receiving a book award from the outgoing editors of The Dartmouth, “Keeping Faith:Memoirs of a President” for most promising or at least most under-foot cub reporter, and I did just leave a voice mail to my roommate and fellow D editor G. Scott Rafshoon esquire who used to date Amy, asking if his eldest boy is yet off to college. (Will check with Mom if GSR is TDB to call back pronto). “1979: As Christmas approached both our nation and I were obsessed with the plight of the American hostages who had been captured when Iranian militants took over our embassy in Teheren in the first week of November”. David McCullough, “1776” just to see if it mentions my professor Jere Daniell (who told us the the Revolution was a bit of an over-reaction). No “Daniell” in index at least but there is “earl of dartmouth” p. 13 and p. 19 save that for another day, or 50 yards of daylight. Alan Alda “Things I Overheard When Talking to Myself” 2008 because he, me, Jackson Pollock, Collete and Claes Oldenburg are all fellow Aquarii. Something about playing Richard Feynman and then talking at CalTech and “entropy”. I’ll say. Al say.

I also borrowed Black Keys “Attack and Release” if only to see if I recognize any of the four singles, the Danger Mouse stuff. I first saw Black Keys as a Fat Possum act at Billion I gotta believe at SXSW maybe 2003. The RFID sticker from the library obscures the lyrics to “Thing Ain’t Like They Used to Be” — and I wonder if spending 50 cents each to save cd-s from theft is worthwhile now that price of cd-s is less than 50 cents, I know since I sold off a thousand of them for about $200. And they picked the guy who suggested this, the theft-prevention for Library Commission over Yours Truly even though I was the only candidate who mentioned even one let alone four authors, like Wallace Stegner and Dao Strom. it says here, on different doohickey that Dao and I spoke for 23 minutes week ago yesterday.

Back to black it say Ralph Carney, Pat’s uncle, played for Earthwise 5th Anniversary at Cubberley at Partial Parrot, plays Jaw Harp which I read as Jaw Hard on “I Got Mine” and concert bass harmonica on “Same Old Thing”. I will start with those: 2 and 8.

Wow. “Ghost Brothers of Darkland County” book by Stephan King and music and lyrics by John Mellancamp December 5 and 6 only Curran Theatre, Shorenstein Hays production — which I picked up randomly and kept playing track 11 or 13 from library and then gave it back — I would sink the $107 or $214 if I bring Terry my Terry, that I’d see! Chad Jones says. 838 it took me two tries, either becuz of Stupid Smart Phone or them to realize that they open at 1000. so 40 minutes into my 10 minutes on water, will boot off to boot on at 8:50 for

Part two: DON’T BRINK THE WATER

http://www.amazon.com/Am-Third-Inspiration-Brians-Song/dp/0142000752/ref=la_B001I9W5ZA_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1414595149&sr=1-1

The song I was tripping on was “How Many Days” sung by Kris Kristofferson, father of my Gunn schoolmate Tracy K and do you realize what a rarity to have a number 1 hit and an oscar film performance in same year, suss that:

And just so I don’t forget, and join me if you know this by heart:
The Lord is First
My friends and Family are Second.
I AM THIRD.

And weirderly: because that Youtube does not seem to play without a new upgrade and Amazon does not have the sound bytes I have to rely on AllMusic to get ever 30 seconds (“if I was tough…my fist..if I was stronger..how many days?”) of that one song, I am willing to let sell me $200 tickets to a show to:
http://www.amazon.com/Ghost-Brothers-Darkland-County-Deluxe/dp/B00BHWG1L2/ref=sr_1_1?s=music&ie=UTF8&qid=1414597689&sr=1-1&keywords=ghost+brothers+stephen+king

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in media, Plato's Republic and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

