‘oohhahhhheeeeeoooohhh yeh yeh!’ 4 2 Toms

Or, We Are Broadcasting Live and Want To Hear All of “Yah”

at the bottom i am re-posting Tom Jordan 2 aka Tommy Jordan of Geggy Tah at Earthwise Showcase in 2009, trumpet solo and splits

we are broadcasting live and want to hear all of yah

—– Forwarded Message —–
From: mark weiss
To: Thomas Jordan
Sent: Sunday, November 9, 2014 2:34 PM
Subject: Re: LCV

Tom Nice seeing you.
We actually discussed via email this in Septemer, including that I explained my relationship to Stegner.
Per my voice mail, I’d rather you read my post to Plastic Alto about ARB and my application there.
I stand by this post, although “the Jewish Mafia” is fiction and a joke, but otherwise and all in all it hints at how my membership of Palo Alto City Council probably would, to normal people and actual environmentalists portend good for the Planet. Plastic Alto might be a wee bit too hip for you, and simultaneously, I may be a wee bit smug for a politician or elected official. (I can tone it down). I don’t think I am arrogant. Like I said, it is hard to hear “tone” in email. I think I am actually under-estimated in terms of my aptitude.

Twenty years ago I left corporate America to do something more grassroots and “environmental” and I think Earthwise Productions has been a success in those realms. What is almost never said is that my seeking leadership after 20 years dba Earthwise is a natural (!) progression or evolution and not “I made a lot of money selling this or that and decided to give back” like TD and EF.

Seriously.

I walked to the meeting at RA’s house, others drove. i drive a 4-cyl chevy worth $15,000 not a $100,000 Tesla toy.

And yes Wallace Stegner was my friend and a huge influence. Nancy Packer endorsed me.

The PASZ four, with due respectd, is like an “app” carefully designed to solve a carefully described “problem” but I fear will not actually further Democracy in Palo Alto. It is a sham. More Trotskyite than Jeffersonian, frankly.

I am sorry I was not in better touch with you. Thanks for your support in 2012.

Mark Weiss

re-read this and comment but I’d rather you read “Ghost-dogging and Gehry’d ARB ap” on Plastic Alto.

or as Tommy would say: oohhahhhheeeeeoooohhh yeh yeh!

In this picture please note that both Weiss and his drummer are wearing green
Posted on August 24, 2014by markweiss86
Photo by Terry Acebo Davis
Photo by Terry Acebo Davis
pasting in my submission to Sierra club, minus the actual names and emails of their people
Mark Weiss:
Congratulations on your decision to run for Palo Alto City Council this fall. If you are interested in receiving the endorsements of the Sierra Club and the League of Conservation Voters (LCV), please follow the process described in this email. FYI, candidates that we endorse have won about 85% of the time.
If you are not interested in receiving our endorsements, please let us know.
The Sierra Club and the LCV will jointly host in person interviews. Interested candidates will be interviewed for 30 minutes on Wednesday, August 27, starting at 6:30 p.m. Interviews will be held at the home of D_ and N_ A_ at {#@&^} in Palo Alto.
If you’d like to be interviewed and considered for our endorsement, please respond to the attached questionnaire and return your answers by Thursday, August 21. We ask that you return your responses as an attached file and in the text of your email.
We will give you an interview time after we receive your completed questionnaire. After interviews are conducted, the Sierra Club and the LCV make separate endorsement decisions. You will receive an e-mail on LCV’s endorsement decision the evening of September 8. The Sierra Club’s decision will be made around Sept. 12.
If you have questions, we are happy to answer them. Thanks for your commitment to public service!
D_ O_ and T_ T__l
for the Sierra Club and the LCV
PS 2 attachments, one of which is copied here:
Sierra Club & League of Conservation Voters (LCV)
City Council Candidate Questionnaire
Due by August 21 to {#@&^}@yahoo.com
Candidate Information
Name:
Office being sought: member, Palo Alto City Council
Campaign manager &
Office Address: just me: 1788 Oak Creek Drive #217 Palo Alto, CA 94304
FPPC ID: none
Phone: 650 305 XXXX
Website: none, other than numerous posts at “Plastic Alto” a wordpress blog, aka markweiss86/wordpress
{
Etaoin Shrudlu} at #@&^@hotmail.com. Please do not embed the photo into the email as our layout person can not copy it with the resolution needed for publication. (You can cut and paste as you see fit from numerous selfies and the like on my blog or out there in the blogosphere…)
In answering these questions, please remember that most of our endorsement decision is based upon your environmental accomplishments.
Please provide explanations with your answer and please include the original question with your response. Your response must be returned in the text of an e-mail, and as an attached file. The file must include your name in it. Whatever. Will re-send as such.
Palo Alto Specific Questions
A. Given the attached map’s description of potential future impacts to Palo Alto, and given the growing political awareness of sea-level-rise as an issue needing attention, what do you believe Palo Alto should be doing now in anticipation of this inevitability?
I would underplay this question; It’s a macro-issue and we are micro-dealers. Maybe we should all visit New Orleans. Or Napa. (I went to New Orleans, on business, music business, six times in 2003 and 2004 and not since Katrina. Napa we visited last month — you heard there was an earthquake there, although that is more relevant in disaster preparedness overall than global warming of sea-level-rise per se. Maybe we can dig out the 100 homes we put in Baylands to build Oregon Expressway.
B. Assuming that the Measure D results reasonably reflected Palo Alto public opinion at that time, do you think recent policy changes by the City Council are a sufficient response? If not, please tell us what further steps you believe the Council and Staff should take?
I think Measure D Referendum on Maybell Dense Housing is a red herring. I am not convinced that the voters realize how corrupt and unrepresentative our leadership is. Certainly as someone ringing alarms since at least the 2012 campaign, and arguably since 2009, I hope se. I don’t think response by council is sufficient. It is election-season changing of stripes. Meanwhile, there is a huge scam around flushing the Comp Plan / General Plan into the Bay. We should enforce current and existing Comp Plan.
C. What role, if any, do you believe the City of Palo Alto should take to preserve the 126 affordable housing units in Buena Vista mobile home park? This is a great question. Meanwhile, City Attorney Stump is issuing a gag order to candidates, which I hope to challenge. I’ve been saying for a while that the moral thing to do is enforce the covenant; leadership should broker a deal between the Residents-turning-HOA (and their counsel Winter Dellanback) and the current owner. Give him a fair small profit and buy him out be rid of him. (There is a bona fide deal from a bank to help the residents buy the property, as reported; the landlord is pushing for an upzoning and partnership from a commercial developer.
I would rather speak out and have Molly try to make me recuse. I am not sure her legal grounds, but I will look into it.
General Questions
1. We consider your past record as the best indicator of your future action for the environment. What have you done to protect natural resources and the environment?
I’m on a 20-year conversion and am arguably the most environmental person in the race. My footprint is pretty small. Earthwise Productions is a spin-off of Bay Area Action, by the way. I will elaborate time permitting here.
2. What do you regard as the major environmental and conservation issues facing Palo Alto and the Bay Area as a whole?
I would say it’s still consumerism and greed and the Seven Deadly Sins since time began. Now it’s Income Inequality as described by Robert Reich in his film, contributing factor. I think green-washing more than environmentalism has made more gains since 1992, and especially since David Brower died. I recall hearing him speak circa 1993 at Commonwealth Club, and taking my Dad and him greeting Mr. Goldman (funder of the Goldman Award) who he knew from the Jewish Mafia, and was introduced to. Also, War, this is a problem. I was the only candidate in 2009 or 2012 to try to link the War (Afghanistan, Iraq) to our local actions. Seven thousand dead. Lots of environmental damage as well. (100,000 plus foreign dead).
3. What are the principal areas of the environment that you will work on if elected? How will you deal with them?
I want to add a park at Ventura District, former Fry’s site (current site). Per Quimby and our Comp Plan. We are actually in a parks deficit here and now.
4. Are you a Sierra Club member? Membership is not required for endorsement. I’m gonna fish for an endorsement from Adam what’s his name, the young whiz kid former Sierra Club head, who went to work for Walmart — I know slightly from the music scene. He shared an office in SF with Jordan Kurland. I worked on contract for Helena Norberg Hodge, whose book was published by Sierra Club Books, a division of Random House. I recently tried to get Duane Elgin (Voluntary Simplicity) to stump for me; his son lives here.
Climate Change
5. What else should Palo Alto do to reduce greenhouse gas generation?
Get rid of Jim Keene.
6. What do you do as an individual to reduce your GHG generation?
Ride my bike when I can.
Green Building
7. What more can be done to ensure that all new construction and remodeling incorporate green building principles?
I think “net zero” is a scam. I’d rather see a moratorium on new starts. See my comments on 420 Cambridge.
8. What types of projects would you support to provide people with an alternative to the private auto?
Not über certainly. (Tax them!). I think CalTrain needs some love. TDM’s all over.
9. Where would you include affordable housing?
How about in Milpitas? I’d rather subsidize for teachers, artists and public safety than merely throw a bone to the lottery-winning poor. There are needs more encompassing for gerontology and elders — I know from personal experience, my parents, much more than in 2012 and 2009. But this may be beyond the scope of environmentalism per se.
Open Space & Urban Recreation – Access to Nature
10. How will you ensure that residents in Palo Alto will have access to safe and enjoyable parks and open space?
I am reading the Comp Plan plus the revised Attach on Comp Plan and will report back.
Water Conservation & Recycling, Rivers & Creeks
11. California will continue to face increasing droughts, what is the most important water-related issue for Palo Alto and what policies or actions would you advocate for your city to address this issue? I am trying to get my childhood friend and co-editor of the Gunn Oracle Greg Zlotnick to advise me on all things wet and pure, but so far is not helping me much. I think we could reform agro first.
http://www.amazon.com/Toms-River-Story-Science-Salvation/dp/055380653X/ref=la_B001K8H8LU_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1415574041&sr=1-1
12. What is your position on stream setback requirements for development? Do you believe current requirements are too strict, too lax, or just right?
Not sure
Wildlife
13. What would you do to help preserve wildlife habitat, wildlife corridors, and in the face of pressures from the growing human population?
Not sure
14. Would you support the development of a bird safe buildings ordinance?
I think this Shani person is engaging and worth hearing out. Not sure.
Zero Waste and Extended Producer Responsibility
15. Where do the yard-waste and food-waste collected in Palo Alto go, and how effective is this program in Palo Alto? Good question . I wonder somehow. I want to re-read Ecology of Commerce by Paul Hawken.
16. Many waste management companies use organics as daily cover at landfills. This causes methane release. Will you support a statewide ban of organics from landfills and from any form of high temperature energy generation facilities like gasification or incineration of mixed waste? Maybe. Where can I read more?
17. Will you push Palo Alto and Santa Clara County to adopt an ordinance requiring drug manufacturers to pay for programs to collect unused and expired medications similar to the one recently adopted by Alameda County? That’s worth looking into. Reminds me of my former Daily Dartmouth colleague Dan Fagin won the 2014 Pulitzer for science writing about Toms River NJ — he might be a good person to shed light nationally on this issue, assertion.
Campaign Reform
18. Will you support a constitutional amendment to overturn Citizens United?
I was actually the first person in Palo Alto to go on record on this. I texted Yiaway Yeh then mayor about this, while listening to a lecture by Jeff Clements* (another Dartmouth connection) — that I do not accept campaign contributions, through 2.10 cycles of election and counting –heck, I haven’t spent a dime — are yard signs environmental? — is consistent with my concern with Citizens and McCutcheon. I am by far the cleanest person within 20 miles of this race, and since Ladoris Cordell on this issue. I also asked three candidates to agree to a voluntary cap on spending for this race and so far no takers. Will persevere.
Campaign Readiness –
Tell us about your campaign readiness, including funding, volunteers, and organization. Please bring examples of your prior and current campaign literature.
I have more than 20 endorsements so far:
Matt Gonzalez, former Green Party candidate for Vice President of the U.S, former SF supe, former SF Mayoral candidate.
Chris Gaither, former Palo Alto council candidate
Paul Weiss, big Democratic giver, Jewish community leader, arts philanthropist, my dad, and Rotarian
Greg Brown, artist, former Palo Alto Staff
Terry Acebo Davis, CRONA nurse, artist, former Arts Commissioner
Einer Sunde, attorney, Former Arts Commissioner
Paula Kirkeby, former Arts commissioner
Deirdre Crommie, Parks Commissioner
Hans Delannoy, Peninsula hoops legend, educator, coach
Joe Zirker (Menlo Park) artist
Henry Ford, NFL black pioneer
Rochelle Ford, artist
Etaoin Shrudlu, #@&^ at #@&^
1. Please list your endorsements. If they are on your website – please just insert your URL.
2. Please include below an exact copy of your ballot statement as submitted at filing.
this is pretty close:
I am running for Council in the tradition of Simitian, Fazzino and Yeh, who were student leaders here and evolved into public service. I graduated from Gunn( 1982) and Dartmouth College (1986) where I was an English major but also read philosophy, history and government. My campaign expands on five years of serious study of and engagement with local policy and the growing sense that leadership does not represent the interests of the citizens, and instead has been significantly undermined by special interests such as commercial real estate developers. Much of my 2012 platform was incorporated into the new Residentialist movement, the referendum on housing, and is consistent with the findings of the Santa Clara Grand Jury 6/16/14 about 27 University. I feel that my qualifications and values best represent the rank-and-file citizens here, especially those who are the product of PAUSD schools or are long-term residents. I also plan to draw significant support from environmentalists, parks advocates and the 40 percent of citizens who rent. I advise my fellow Palo Altans to lean in NOW on the Comp Plan ratification process. Why flush 120 years of history into the Bay for short term gain or greed? Plato’s Republic | Plastic Alto with Mark Weiss
I’m doing two versions of this, the speed-ready version, in case you have a 10:30 or so deadline, and 2) the semi-rushed version, in case you mean midnight Sunday, Aug. 24 as your extended deadline. You also have on file my 2012 responses, that I published on “Plastic Alto” the blog, and maybe 2009. Also, I plan to write a general statement defining my 20-year conversion to Green, coinciding with the formation of Earthwise Productions, the small for-profit socially-conscious business of which I am the CEO.
edit to add:
I doubt Adam Werbach is going to endorse me, but I am curious enough to hit him up and report back.
I wrote about “garbage-to-energy revolution” for Worcester Telegram…in 1985.
enclosed is a photo…there are many others.. good night!
Occasionally, some of your visitors may see an advertisement here.
Tell me more | Dismiss this message
Related
Fire go come say labor
In “art”
Weiss to appear at Elks Club Palo Alto September 22 at 1:11 p.m.
In “art”
I don’t wanna be your hero I just wanna fight like everyone else
In “austistic”

From: Thomas Jordan
To: mark weiss
Sent: Tuesday, September 9, 2014 7:58 PM
Subject: Re: LCV

What was your personal relationship with Wally? Tom Jordan
On Sep 9, 2014, at 5:34 PM, mark weiss wrote:

is your group also by any chance known as the barry goldwater league of conservative -ation voters?
mbw

keep me in mind, as an individuals, for that fifth choice….thanks

i guess i should have played up my personal friendship with Wallace Stegner a bit more…

From: Terry Trumbull
To: earwopa@yahoo.com
Sent: Tuesday, September 9, 2014 5:02 PM
Subject: LCV

Mark-
The LCV board voted to endorse Greg Scharff, Nancy Shepard, Karen Holman, and Cory Wolbach for council last night. We are taking no position on the other council seat.

Thank you for taking the time to respond to our questionnaire, attend our interview, and your commitment to public service.

Terry A. Trumbull
LCV Endorsement Chair

* I corresponded briefly with Jeff Clements a former prosecutor whose brother Ben was my classmate at Dartmouth and he said he could not endorse me because he is on the board of Corporations Are Not People ngo and therefore it would potentially impact his groups tax status, if he were partisan.

Another thing coming to mind: David Oglivy line about in advertising there are poets and killers and the ones who are both make money; also, L_ who said I was more like a Rabbi than a Council candidate.
tommytrumpetsolo

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in art, music, Plato's Republic, sex, words and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

