Ehren Tool w. Trevor Paglen

insert photo of an Ehren Tool 2014 mug here

Adrienne Rich 1997 declining Clinton medal, before Ehren Tool quotes it:[Art] means nothing if it simply decorates the dinner table of the power which holds it hostage

Adrienne Rich 1997 declining Clinton medal, before Ehren Tool quotes it:[Art] means nothing if it simply decorates the dinner table of the power which holds it hostage


insert Amazon link to a Trevor Paglen book here, while watching PBS show
http://www.amazon.com/Could-Tell-Then-Would-Destroyed/dp/193555414X/ref=asap_B001JSHGHW_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1416452746&sr=1-1

coda:
The Fact of a Doorframe
means there is something to hold
onto with both hands
while slowly thrusting my forehead against the wood
and taking it away
one of the oldest motions of suffering
as Makeba sings
a courage-song for warriors
music is suffering made powerful

edit to add, two months later, or Feb. 2, 2015: I checked “sex” in category because there is not a box for “feminism”. I have a feminist bumper sticker on my Chevy, however. I am preparing something with a distaff theme which made me notice this Ehren Tool mug again and I just sourced that the quote was included in Margalit Fox’s obit of the poet in 2012. Along with this photo:

Poet Adrienne Rich

Poet Adrienne Rich

Also, I wrote a misleading headline of a post yesterday “You’ve come a long way baby” which was used by a cigaret company to laud female progress, and I used it because I was plugging the ubiquitous soft drink which had a ridiculous yet somehow charming message at the Super Bowl broadcast; I did respond and drink one. Come a long way in that I am a refugee from the ad industry usually despise those ads. I admit I did buy said Chevy from the previous graph, above Adrienne, because of it’s nifty ad by OkGO. That plus my family was in the Chevy business from 1919 to 1988. I am human, hear me snore. I first heard of Adrienne Rich when Tom Sleigh taught us a reading class at Dartmouth. I had never heard of Makeba either.

some of this, especially the “edita” are prefatory to writing about Irene Young whose photos of musicians adorn not the doorframe but the interior walls of Freight and Salvage while surprise lasts.

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in art, media, Plato's Republic, sex and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

