IMHO, or I am Ho

Wong , Hanna

Wong , Hanna

I M H O stands for “in my humble opinion”
I read into the record John Paul Hanna’s letter to staff about the proposed demolition and rebuild of 429 University. My point was that if you are a $500/hr attorney writing from the perspective of your suite in the tallest building in downtown Palo Alto, 525 University this proposal looks pretty good! But that he is in the minority. Most of us merely live here not work here, not have are livelihoods conjoined to the billion dollar real estate orgy here.

I was deadpan enough that the owner of the building came up to me and thanked me and gave me her card — she asked me and I complied to write my name and contact info on one of the cards we use to speak our 3 minutes regular people’s piece. Elizabeth Wong, Wharton Properties LLC (although this project is known as Kipling Post) Developer and Lessor High End Properties PO Box 204, Palo Alto, CA 94302 whartonlease@gmail.com local landline I will spare you or her. Little drawing not sure of what on the card, but def three stories, maybe it’s High and Hamilton

I texted Tom Dubois who was the one who suggested I go to the meeting that I was being subtle. I spoke to Gennady of the Weekly and broke it down for him, while he or just after he took notes on David Kleiman one of approximately 20 real estate people or developers who spoke on behalf of the project. I said “I am mocking these people, not joining them”.

Earlier I had called Brett Caviness of LeVett Properties at 502 Waverley who said that his boss Denny LeVett had addended his letter of Sept. 8, 2014 and now fully supports the project (and beyond the packet per se was a letter of November 18 “I believe the building would be a great asset to Palo Alto and the Downtown community” I was just schmoozing or vamping or comping as they say but I mentioned that Terry and I would stay in his Carmel property with our dog, and I asked “where would today’s Doris Day sing in Palo Alto”.

I had meant to sincerely greet and wish well for new ARB commish’s Kyu Kim and Ms. Ballantyne or Ballantine, a realtor who also has a nice resume and landscape architecture practice. I had popped in on Kim’s office on High, same building as Popp and Barton.

Random segue but I had been chatting with the author and nonfiction wizard Ann Hagedorn about “Winesburg, Ohio” the fictional story of small town and reporter-type. She was most recently in Cleveland talking about privatization of war.

Ms. Wong’s new building will address our housing needs with four luxury penthouses but meanwhile working class and poor are all wet.

And I am curious about the new yoga practice “Hot and Loud” yoga. Namaste with that.

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in Plato's Republic and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

