We have fun with our old pal Jordan Kurland of Zeitgeist

Note: When I met Jordan he was a dread-locked assistant to both Chris Trouz Cuevas of Spire and David Smiley Leftkoastwhich of Figurehead Mgmt on 16th street Different Fur building in the City. He sent me a letter on David Lefkowitz letterhead in fall of 1995 about whether his roommate not a client of DL Matt something could open for Dar Williams at the Cub (the spot was filled, but nice try).


Anyhoo, I forwarded him my fan letter and fake press query to his not then but now client Best Coast, who did not invent the logo of bear hugging map of state but certainly caught that wave early.

Timing is everything in all these businesses.

I added one line to above: (and your manager but I spelled it “manger”)
the subject line said I have been waiting two years for this

I should also point out that I’d like to book Bob Mould not into the showcase per se, for Earthwise@20 but as part of Jon Wurster’s rider: Jon, me and Mould will go get mani-pedi’s as part of the deal. Stuff of dreams. Dream of stuffs.

imagined query to publicist of a new band
Posted on June 7, 2012 by markweiss86
Jess Rotter
Jess at Kemado
Cc: Jess at jess rotter

Dear Jess and or friends:

Hey, can you set me up an interview with Best Coast?
If they cannot respond from Europe, it can wait until July.
Aren’t they local here in Cali?

If not by phone, email is fine.
If not an actual band member, maybe a driver or sound person is fine.

Also, I noticed that you have a design company as well as doing pr for Mexican Summer bands – unless there are multiple Jess Rotters: maybe you can do a design or painting for me, a commission? My company started in 1994 – I am creeping up on 20 year or 18th anniversary – maybe I can put out a poster or something. Or just buy something for myself and write about it for my blog. (5 year anniversary: superchunk concert; 10 year anniversary, in year 14: Steven Bernstein concert; 15 year anniversary: 7 unknown acts workshopping new material; 16, 17, anniversaries: too busy writing a blog to remember to put on a show, plus times are tight).

Or I guess I can put on a show and then hire you to do a poster.
And don’t think of this as a bribe or related to wanting to interview Best Coast.

I know that if you already have New York Times and Drew Barrymore, you don’t really need Plastic Alto (that’s my blog).

My company, btw, and not to confuse you, is Earthwise Productions which started as environmental benefit concerts – your book cover with carrots and all that is similar style. If you don’t have time to do a commission for me, or I cannot afford you, maybe I can just download the cover art from that book and pretend you licensed it to me or my blog for “Earthwise Productions 18th Anniversary – the blog post”

Let me know about any of above.
My questions:
1) How soon until we have a woman rocker in the white house, and who amongst your peers do you nominate – I think you have to be 35 or so, but not to be age-ist but you would probably get more votes if you run before 50 or so?
2) How do you get that guitar tone?
3) What is your favorite pre-concert meal? Is the food good in the UK?
4) What surprises the fans of Best Coast about the distribution of labor among the bandmembers, perhaps along non-traditional gender lines, like are their non-girlish things that female member or members don’t mind doing, in the day to day running of a show or recording session or travel, and vice versa things that the male member or members do surprisingly willingly or well; this is an age old issue, co-ed or co-led bands, going back to, for example, Fleetwood Mac, Superchunk, X, et al?

I made all that up; if there is an actual interview I can prepare better questions.

Have a nice day and thanks.

Mark Weiss
Plastic Alto blog and Earthwise Productions

edit to add:

http://www.amazon.com/dp/1934170127/ref=rdr_ext_tmb

Occasionally, some of your visitors may see an advertisement here.

Tell me more | Dismiss this message

Related
John Vanderslice live in Palo Alto
In “music”
Danilo Perez in Palo Alto 12th anniversary show
In “jazz”
Tale of Two Gits: Mia and Ren
In “media”

About markweiss86
Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
View all posts by markweiss86 →
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Edit

and 1: Maya Ford and I are starting a tribute band called Breast Coat; she plays bass and sings, I juggle three egg shakers.

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

