Annette Gordon-Reed a good read

Thomas Jefferson and Sally Hemings as depicted in 1804, "A Philosophic Cock"

Thomas Jefferson and Sally Hemings as depicted in 1804, “A Philosophic Cock”


I believe I was first hipped to Annette Gordon-Reed via the Dartmouth Alumni Magazine. “The Hemingese of Monticello: An American Family” came out in 2008, but I just got my paws on it last week, from the new Mitchell Center library in Palo Alto.

I also coincidentally or providentially met yesterday Constance Dixon-Sorogane who hails from the Richmond, VA-area and is a recent hired at PAUSD in special education but I believe her when she says she is musical.

I have two friends, Dartmouth classmates, from or in Richmond: John Samuel “Jack’ Martin, an attorney and Jack Bocock, a former Navy Seal and maybe OSS and maybe a Homeland-type spy — he actually looks or looked like the redhead in the TV show and played lacrosse at Dartmouth and was in the Sphinx secret society; Martin meanwhile was the only one in a four-man suite at Phi Delt who was not in the secret society and let out a type of respectful cock-a-doodle-doo about the elitism. I had, and this is really a typical Plastic Alto shaggy dog, leather-sack thingy, written about 5,000 words about Senior Societies and I recall getting an interview with Mr. Kimball of Buildings and Grounds who was faculty advisor to the Sphinx — and I think he must be a relation of Rick Kimball Dartmouth 1978 and a Trustee I met for the first time last week at The Palace, and he says his office, it turns out, TCV, is less than 100 yards from where I sit, at Coupa Cafe on Ramona.

So far I’ve only flipped open at random, shot this 1804 cartoon and pasted it above. What I am dreaming about is putting Annette Gordon-Reed, who teaches law at NYU and history at Rutgers and is also a Dartmouth Trustee, I think, in the same room as guitarist Jeff Parker of Tortoise fame, I’ve met thru Scott Amendola (who I saw Saturday at Z Space with Rachel Garlin, Julie Wolf and is in Portland tonight with Charlie Hunter — Plastic Alto is after all or foremost a jazz story) and I am wondering about an oratorio set to through-composed music. And maybe Ms. Dixon-Sorogane and or PAUSD students could help develop this?

Stuff of dreams.

http://www.amazon.com/Hemingses-Monticello-American-Family/dp/0393337766/ref=la_B000APIZM0_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1418148428&sr=1-1

and1: wow, luck or providence, Jeff Parker is actually in Oakland and San Jose this week,as a sideman. Will have to hit him on this account.
now his bio says he is from Bridgeport, CT born but I swear he said he was growed in VA.
He is with Andrew Bird tomorrow at Largo Something almost worth jumping to check.

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in music, Plato's Republic and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

