Why does Gunn grad Keith Peters hate Gunn athletics?

1.
“I have no sour grapes and I don’t feel like I’ve been wronged,” Lavorato said. “But, I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t disappointed. We would have liked to have kept playing.”
“It’s bittersweet, I suppose,” said Lavorato. “It was a great year. How could you be upset after going 13-0? We won the Open. I think we are the best team in the CCS. I can’t say enough good things about our coaching staff and our kids and how wonderful they were and are.

“This was a special year. This might not happen again.”
(from Palo Alto Weekly coverage of Sacred Heart championship season, but not playing for the State Championships) And my comment on their board: I also referenced this topic in recent address to Open Forum PAUSD board

For the record, you give more coverage to how the coach of a private school in Menlo Park feels about not being invited to play in the post season than you give the entire 12 game season of Gunn of Palo Alto football. There are ten times more Palo Altans who follow Gunn football even in a losing season than live in Palo Alto and root for Sacred Heart.

This is a good story, but it should not displace Gunn.

The fact that there are no comments five days after publishing reinforces my point.

Congrats to Sacred Heart on your championship season.

2. And why does Bill Johnson seem to view development projects thru a rosy screen?

Another local paper reported that the bankruptcy documents showed that Miki was not actually McNellis’ tenant as much as McNellis fronted Miki $500,000 to run the grocery, making them more like partners.

Jim Baer, a consultant to Alma Village, told me this was not true, but I think since the Weekly continues to cover this story, or these stories, they might want to check on it, review the same document.

Is that sausage on the grill or another Grand Jury report I smell?

And I agree with the poster above who thinks also of the stinky History Museum story — we are allowing a particular developer an additional $10 M in TDR somehow related to deal per se — in the same breath here. WTF?

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in media and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

