Seven titles I near-checked at Mitchell Center, plus a mystery, plus three blue knights ascending a stair-case or stare-case, as the case may be

Mitchell Center library, Palo Alto, Monday, December 22, 3 p.m.

Mitchell Center library, Palo Alto, Monday, December 22, 3 p.m.


I killed three hours at Mitchell Center, library. It was self-defense.

Here are things I pawed but did not commit to:

1) Putamayo Mexico cd, because of my recent work on Pasatono Orquestra, and the closest thing here, from this angle is, Lila Downs, “Naila” or Los Lobos “Flor de Huevo” or Lhasa, dearly departed – and I tried to conjure her name the other night at Freight and failed to do so — “Los Peces”, 2001.

2) Miles Davis, Kind of Blue, which everyone knows is 1959. So what you say.

3) Miles Davis, in a silent way, with Herbie Hancock, Chick Corea, Wayne Shorter, Dave Holland, Josef Zawinul, John McLaughlin and Tony Williams.

4) Idan Raichel, Quarter to Six, or lamed shin shin, Cumbancha, 2013 wow that’s so new.
The titles are transliterated: ana ana wa enta enta means I am what I am. The title means “it will soon be dark”. that song is actually a Mira Awad song. who sings the lead.
cover art by Ablade Glover of Ghana
shish means six idiot hence the shin shin
5) Bertold Brecht Love Poems this book oddly is copyright 2015 although the author’s dates were 1898-1956
6) Huang Zhuan, Politics and Theology in Chinese Contemporary Art: reflections on the work of Wang Guangyi.

this contemporary Chinese painting sold for millions, by Wang Guangyi, ok i will check out the book, you got me, lucky 13 on my list of checkouts

this contemporary Chinese painting sold for millions, by Wang Guangyi, ok i will check out the book, you got me, lucky 13 on my list of checkouts

7) Joseph Wambaugh, Hollywood Hills, and I left my MacBook as bait for thiefs while I took 2 minutes to run or elevate upstairs to W in Fiction to fish this out. Inspired by the sight of a group of Palo Alto’s finest taking a tour — I did not see any of them coming back down toting books or media.

The mystery is that the card catalog online lists “Choirboys” as an item but then asks me for my personal membership on Hulu to watch it. I was gonna watch 20 min on silent just for yucks.

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in Plato's Republic. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

