Aquinas Church on Waverley, in movies and in Weiss campaign

I call this hands-together pose 'namaste' which means the light inside of me acknowledges the light inside of you, even by internet

I call this hands-together pose ‘namaste’ which means the light inside of me acknowledges the light inside of you, even by internet

One of my happier mornings campaigning for Palo Alto City Council, or half hours even, was standing outside of Terry’s congregation on Waverley greeting people as they made their was to an early Sunday Mass. I was holding a sign, designed by Terry with help from Rob Syrett. I probably talked to 30 people that morning and some of them I explained that my girlfriend was inside, a congregant (and sometimes a reader). I think the same morning I met two sisters of my Gunn classmate Angela Ambrosio and one of them said I could place a sign at her Middlefield home. A couple months later, Eric Cohen shot my photo in front of same church, I call it Aquinas (which is also what we called the Catholic center at Dartmouth, also “A.Q”). Eric (and his twin brother Steve) is a Hollywood SAGolyte, so he reminded me that the church, or maybe just the exterior is featured in Hal Ashby 1971 film “Harold and Maude”.

Maude and Harold, film still

Maude and Harold, film still

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in media, Plato's Republic and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

