Plastic plastic mediation

Or, the ship I carry in my chest

1. Heritage: California Slim: Music, Magic and Madness, May 5, 2013 (dvd or recordable dvd, copyright 2013 Palo Alto History Association, but may be unique copy, of Andy Bernstein the logistics executive talking about his youth as manager of Sonny Terry and road warrior for Willie Nelson, and producing partner of Greg Rolie at Homer St. Warehouse or “Homer’s Warehouse)
on casual loan from PAHA via Steve Staiger, historian
2.The Bad Plus (w. Wendy Lewis) For All I Care, Heads Up, 2009 on loan from Palo Alto library but truth be told the only track I listened to was Lithium (Nirvana cover, and I posted about that, “book of tears” “I’m not gonna crack” or whatnot the melody is preserved but the lyric is shifting
3. Rupa & The April Fishes, c p 2006 Rupa Marya i.e. self released, predating Cumbancha Deal, and thanks to KZSU dj “Lipida” for playing 4 Rupa tracks today, on request including my fav “Wishful Thinking” I nearly titled this “The Ship That I Carry in My Chest” which I guess means my heart. The word “Mark” is written in someone else’s hand, presumably RM. I have misplaced the liner notes / booklet spearletly (stet) and maybe have an actual autograph or inscription therein or thereout as the case may be, or the booklet separated from the case may be, as the case may be or not to be. Art by Mona Caron.
4. Reggae Songs of Freedom, 3 cd set, I bought from Whole Foods, but I notice or seem to think someone made this from their vinyl collection and not masters, some kind of bootleg. The actual credits are too small to read. “Compiled by The Professor”

5. James Booker, Junco Partner, copy of PA Library, but I certain I own a copy somewhere; 1976 Rykodisc, and not the one that hipped me to Stevenson Palfi; Reminds that last night driving home from Kathleen Turner as Molly Ivins “Red Hot Patriot” I heard, before switching to Wednesday night Live at KZSU featuring Renaissance Fly (Polly Mueller, Larry the O et al) Marian McPartland tape with Paul Schaeffer and I thought it was “Cissy Strut” and I mistook it for Henry Butler solo versus a four-hands.
I think I was tripping on, night tripper, like Mac, “make a better world” by Earl King.

6. Bob Marley Natural Mystic, the lyrics of “War”:
That until the basic human rights are equally
Guaranteed to all, without regard to race
Dis a war

I own that

7. Los Lobos Goes Disney (from library) not to be confused with Jason Olaine’s “Everybody Wants to be a Cat” various jazz artists, 2009, kind of a waste. Let Lobos be Lobos!!!!! I may have to write that using spray can at Gunn’s N-Building, and then go to jail for 60 days, as a dissident.
If anybody is still listening “Zip-A-Dee-Doo-Dah” is by Allie Wrubel and Ray Gilbert.
Whereas I wanna be just like you is written by Richard M. Sherman and Robert B. Sherman, not to be confused with the comic-influenced footballer my former neighbor Richard Sherman of Compton and Seattle.

8. Cream, “Wheels of Fire” 1968 two disc set, especially new to me #6 “Politician” my new theme song. I think the live version of “Crossroads” from the Fillmore is the version people here on radio, like “Freebird” live radio edit by Lynyrd, a few years later, but check back. (robert johnson) from library

9. Black Keys Attack and Release, produced by Danger Mouse, not that into. 2008 Nonesuch
on loan
i like the lettering at least, watercolor or faux water color
artwork and design my Michael Carney, managed by John Peets for Q Prime
reminds of my one-sided talk with Michael Cunningham of Seattle office of Red Light which got me thinking about Michelle Shocked at Frost, Bay Area Action Earth Day, 1993, because Jason Colton worked on that show. And then “Memories of East Texas” was cue-drooped into the Molly Ivans bit, and I talked about it with a “Wendy” and usher who looked awfully familiar but was not Wendy Paskin, nice try. I bought tickets to “X’s and O’s a Love Story” on football, later this month at Berkeley Rep partly, or what sealed the deal, was co-starring both Dwight Hicks (49ers) and Marilee Talkington (I met at a BART platform).

Speaking of Berkeley and digressing from a list of cd’s and media in my bag, I like at Freight and Salvage Cris Williamson two-nights nearly sold thru but because features Shelly Doty and Julie Wolf, Ruthie Foster in March, Julian Lage Nels Cline duo this Friday I think, Utah Phillips tribute, and across the street Anton Schwart business seminar at JazzSchool and Al Young part of poetry tribute to jazz in Feb. Dig?

I also uploaded from cellphone to email (for possible Plasty) 64 photos on TK topics.

Gotta move my car. Or as Michael Franti (works with Cunningham above) says: everybody let’s move.

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in media and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

