Some thoughts on the schools

I stood after leaving the Open Forum part of Tuesday’s meeting in the dark with three strangers, with a Mom, her son and another boy,who might have been a speaker, a source quoted above and the son of someone I met 32 years ago. At first I mistook them all for Gunn students. (The Mom thanked me). We were discussing “cliques” or clicks, groups of students, sometimes exclusive or unwelcoming. I said “In 1980, my sophomore year at Gunn, five of us met at my parents’ house and taped a discussion on cliques for an article I was writing on social pressure, for the Oracle.”

In 1984, my friend John N_, our valedictorian and a sophomore at Harvard took his own life in New York, at 20. It’s still sad, and disturbing, but I mention this to contextualize that the recent events are not entirely new.

I am literally unsure what any group can do to solve this issue, but we have to try.

I voted for Godfrey and Dauber specifically based on their interest in this issue. (In fact, I think I voted for all five current PAUSD board members, if that’s mathematically possible; I shook Denise’s hand and said “You are doing a good job”).

This too will pass.

I think the Gunn-Paly hoops match Feb. 7 will be an exciting diversion from all this.

Good luck with the jazz concert as well.

Palo Alto is what we make of it. Although we cannot control all the variables.

Let’s give ourself credit for doing as well as we do.

I do not support the “Save the 2,008”, with due respect, however. I beg to differ.

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in Plato's Republic and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

