Clockers (3)

Clockers:
http://www.amazon.com/Clockers-A-Novel-Richard-Price/dp/B002KQ6FIS
1) book by Richard Price, I got 5 pages in to learn that drug dealers such as “shanelle or shanette, with baby fat” have a 2 minute attention span, or hear and now mentality;

2) http://www.amazon.com/Collection-Clockers-Jungle-Better-Crooklyn/dp/B000E40QC4
dvd of film, by Spike Lee based on Price book “Clockers” in the five minutes that I watched, some white police arrested some black gangster looking people, and then searched them, including asking them to drop their basketball shorts; there was some gratuitous as far as I know posturing such as slapping of the buttocks and pretending that the suspects — innocent until proven guilty — where playmates of a sexual kind. The cops taunted the perps and attacked their manhood. It’s just a movie, peeps.

3) Coinkydinky, the day before, Saturday, I spoke at the Palo Alto City Council retreat about a proposal by Cory Wohlbach newly elected young member to have a digital clock counting up the two minutes that We The People are allowed to speak to Power, or our purported leadership. I said I think the digitization is unnecessary and that I don’t like machines added to a human equation, and that the attack on the value of rank-and-file input is what bothers me most of all. As a joke, I told a reporter we should have a “hockey rule” wherein the least effective of the 9 council members would have to spend the entire next meeting in a penalty box (thus also neutralizing the impact of the recent initiative to restrict council for 9 to 7, something I opposed).
I suggesgted, in my 2 minute speech, better would be borrow from poker: say “check” or “pass” you so-called leaders if you have nothing substantive to say from the dias. Only speak if you, so to speak, are raising the bet or upping the ante. Tom Dubois suggested something that I only see slightly, a “chess clock” concept which would permit some silence but a too literal banking of the minutes. Similarly, Liz Kniss proposed “red light cameras” and my logic again says no to machines doing a human job.

I will probably return both the book and DVD to library without getting much further. As I write this library commissioner Elaine Shen Sheena Chin I think is leading a joint. edit to add: I skimmed Ms. Chin’s application to LAC and found that beyond university level journalism study in Taiwan she is a former student at Northwestern Polytech University of Fremont, CA. I met her and card her commish card at the grand opening.

commissioner Chin

commissioner Chin

and1: this post digressed from a discussion of a text to live coverage of the Council meeting, then merged as Library Chief DeConge acknowledged that people want longer hours. (clockers>hours)
chin
Ms. Chin seems to be chiming in in support of 9 pm closing like in MV.

Note: I applied for LAC in 2009 and got 0 vote.

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in media, Plato's Republic, sex and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

