Goodbye, old friend: Candlestick Park, (1960-2015)

Wille Mays, Joe Montana, Mick Jagger and me

Wille Mays, Joe Montana, Mick Jagger and me


My first visit to Candlestick was to see Giants and Astros, Bat Day, 1972 I think. You could here, via the radio, the kids pounding the bats on the cement.

My dad and I saw more than 100 49ers games, 1974-2008 or so. Including “The Catch”.

In baseball, I saw the famous Giants-Dodgers twi-night doubleheader in 1988 with Rich Durante, the last time beer was sold unregulated.

I saw the Rolling Stones with about a dozen classmates, 1982, and was the designated driver, in a Key Chevrolet van, kinda sorta.

I thought the wind issues were overblown. Builders want to build, build, build. And no, I have not seen the new Santa Clara stadium. I do like the Giants new park, I must admit.

Oh, yeah. We were there for the Earthquake. My poor mother thinking the worst for four hours until we got back. She didn’t think, sitting in the dark, to check her car radio.

I shot the Stick a couple times in recent months, on the way to other San Francisco attractions.

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in media and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

