Nya Jade keeps rockin’ in the free world

international woman of mystery nya jade

international woman of mystery nya jade


Nya Jade is based I think in New York but is Ghanaian and for a while hung out in the 650. I recall seeing her at Foothill Junior College when I was taking Janis Stevenson’s class on the blues, singing with the chorus of Lydia Oey and not attending Paul Davis’ too slobbering Beatles pant (like a Collie stationed in front of a taco stand, in July). Paul Davis who gave me an “F” for saying the Beatles were over-rated and more a phenomenon in a McLuhanist sense of the electronic media that cutting edge per se.

I look forward to hearing more of Nya Jade either via these tracks or it would be great to hear her live. I think that under a different name I booked her once into Stanford CoHo but I’m not sure of the details.

There is a mystery to Nya Jade, for sure.

If she is secretly an international woman of mystery I am sure it is for the good guys and gals. Since I said below that Ledisi deserves a variety show ala Carol Burnett, maybe Nya Jade and some friends, maybe even Shonda Rhimes could team up something that is like a musical mix of “Charlie’s Angels” “Homeland” or maybe Marsh McCall my Gunn classmate could lend me your ears. I think Lisa Allette Brooks who did field work in Botswana once gave Nya a guitar lesson. Or, not sure.

edit to add: Nya’ website says that she is actually not “what country” but Country per se, like Darius Rucker and also Mazel Tov to Nya (not Nyree) and family: what day of the week, makes me wonder, was your daughter born on?

ok, and1: my then-client Allen Clapp and How The Orange Peels opened for Hootie and the Blowfish at Mountain Winery and as musicians (including Peter Holsapple) were sitting around I started thinking “who is that second guitar player?” and it turns out the dude was actually Darius’s bodyguard who set up up-stage of the singer, whose fans perhaps cannot help but reach out to touch his awesomely prodigious talent; I wish Nya the right amount of attention to get her what she is seeking. See also: Eugene Robinson who similarly courted a certain cultivated amount of “HOLD MY ____” onstage. Eugene proud papa of 3 and Stanford grad. So: what about duet of Eugene and Nya ala Billy Joe and Norah?

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in music, sex and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

