Lincecum under control

lincecumtopps2015
I bought a pack of Topps baseball cards, for $3, to bring me back to 1972 when Andy Dieden and I would ride our bikes ten minutes into the Saratoga Village to get the same 10 cards plus gum for ten cents. I shot a photo of that dip in the road or dale but then deleted it. (Seemed bigger when I was 8).

I got a Lincecum in that pack, so the money was well spent. I might have gone as high as $10 just for that card. Is it his last?

One bright spot I noticed: the stats on the back say that in 2014, Timmy’s eighth season, he walked 63 batters in 33 appearances. That’s a career low! His ERA was a hideous 4.74 but his walks ratio was best ever. Ratio to games or innings, not K’s.

And yes sir, I was there that proud Wednesday afternoon in June when he got his no-no. I was on my bike heading back to Oak Creek when I noticed fans congregating on the CalTrain platform. I said “who’s pitching?” and when I heard I trucked back to Terry’s to dump the bike and grab a cap and the rest is his story and my story, too! I watched every pitch from right field landing, standing room and sometimes think I can see myself in photos or the broadcast.

Never thought I’d see, even remotely 3 Giants World Series champions — all 3 of them, I’m not too proud to admit, snuck up o me. I did not catch many other games, if any, during those seasons, I shrugged off their chances (in none of those seasons, did they lead the NL in wins). Terry still thinks it weird that I watched Mad Bum 7 from Fred’s dive bar then ducked out for most of that to eat ramen at DoHatSuTen.

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in media and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

