Detroit has a skyline too: my photos of or with 3 local developers

It was no architect designed this view
He could not have known about you
Mousy homes, catacombs
Detroit has a skyline too
Detroit has a skyline too

Doesn’t really fit here, but this is a music blog first and foremost.
1.

John McNellis, I think he has offices 400 block of Waverley, near the combination 7-ll / Start-up Garage, sometimes volunteers at the Soup Kitchen and is known for opposing amped music at Lytton Plaza, on behalf of TCV his tenant nearby, and for Alma Village, fall, 2014

John McNellis, I think he has offices 400 block of Waverley, near the combination 7-ll / Start-up Garage, sometimes volunteers at the Soup Kitchen and is known for opposing amped music at Lytton Plaza, on behalf of TCV his tenant nearby, and for Alma Village, fall, 2014

2.

Charles "Chop" Keenan, reaching skyward at High and Hamilton, shot nearby, fall, 2014, but mostly known for keeping the people out of the historic and beloved The Varsity

Charles “Chop” Keenan, reaching skyward at High and Hamilton, shot nearby, fall, 2014, but mostly known for keeping the people out of the historic and beloved The Varsity

3.

Elizabeth Wong is Argentinian, a mom, a wife and a landlord more than developer, with The Apple Store and fresh plans for 429 University on her horizon

Elizabeth Wong is Argentinian, a mom, a wife and a landlord more than developer, with The Apple Store and fresh plans for 429 University on her horizon


I will outro with the video of the song, by Superchunk, who played my Cubberley Sessions, my 5-year anniversary event even, where we gave out “Superchunk(chocolate chip)” or “CreeperLagoon(berry)” ice cream, from Rick’s Rather Rich.

I mean this in the nicest and most respectful possible way, but these 3 might not fit into an elevator together.heavy

and1: it is weird being a combination concert promoter and political activist — one who does not accept campaign contributions, even, but then I sent this to the record label and hinted that they should send me a free bumpersticker. I would gladly reimburse them for the sticker, I just wanted to see what kind of reaction I would get. I was a Superchunk fan before I started the concert biz, by about 2 years. I was a Superchunk fan before I knew there was indie. I first saw ‘chunk at Cat’s Cradle in 1991, the month that Anita Hill was calling out Clarence Thomas.

and now I’ve really blathered over the minimalism of the 3 developer photos but Jon in a 2005 memoir corroborates what I saw on Anita Hill’s wiki page about October, 1991 being the timing of the show I saw: it was Jon’s first month with the band:
I really can’t believe it’s been almost 14 years since I was asked to join Superchunk (I replaced original drummer Chuck Garrison). Sure, it was tough giving up my burgeoning window-washing career (I was told I was on track to becoming second assistant crew chief), but I went for it anyway. Over the course of two weeks in mid-October 1991, we practiced in Mac’s living room, played a WXYC benefit at the Cradle, and prepared for a four-week tour. I didn’t know it then, but that tour would be just the first step of an almost decade-and-a-half-long journey that would take the four of us around the world many times.

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in music, Plato's Republic, sex and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

