Waiting for Gigot

Reunion of two former editors of The Dartmouth, Paul Gigot '77 of WSJ and Mark Weiss '86( actually Literary Director to Paul's E-in-C earlier) of Plastic Alto blog, Lytton Plaza, February, 2015; Gigot was part of a Stanford D-School new media workshop

Reunion of two former editors of The Dartmouth, Paul Gigot ’77 of WSJ and Mark Weiss ’86( actually Literary Director to Paul’s E-in-C earlier) of Plastic Alto blog, Lytton Plaza, February, 2015; Gigot was part of a Stanford D-School new media workshop

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Waiting for Gigot

  1. John Burks says:

    Hey Mark Weiss, I should have checked out your home page before beaming the VanBuskirk msg your way a few minutes ago. I’d no idea you were a Dartmouth guy, sort of like me. Sort of, because I hated it there, stopped going to class, eventually wound up at SF State where I belonged– hipster heaven.
    Big change from Dartmouth, where, before attending a single class us frosh were outfitted with beanies, herded into a convocation and told we were the Leaders of Tomorrow, The Hope of Mankind, which was why we had a special responsibility to rully rully Apply Ourselves. This, before The College had any idea who we really were. Shortly thereafter, I made acquaintance with legions of self-important preppies who actually subscribed tonthat bullshit. Too ridiculous for me. In my heart I dropped out upon arrival. Stuck around to play jazz, learn to drink, make time with the ladies, AND because my parents didn’t want to hear anything about transferring.
    In retrospect, I hold no grudge against Dartmouth, but sure am glad I connected with SFSU, where I returned after a career in journalism (Newsweek, Rolling Stone, etc.) to chair the journalism dept. Hungry students, no beanies.
    I like what you’re doing with this Plastic Alto*, content and spirit. If ever you’d like to take lunch or coffee or a beer, I’m in Pacifica, real close. Say when.

    jb

    * Every time I listen to the Massey Hall recording I’m astonished that Bird could wail like that on an almost- toy instrument. Full clarion burning tone, blazing articulation. Speaking of genius!

    editor: wow, those are two great posts, or comments; I’m going to splice them together and put them as their own entity; it kinda reminds me of “Jailhouse House Rock:”…and little Robbie Christgau on the slide trombone!!!

    And I do have to admit I have not heard that performance, I was just making the obvious pun, but will bring it to the fore, somehow.

Leave a Reply

