Hey now you’re an All Star and CCS champ

This article shows the idiocy of the CCS format: you win Div. II and therefore can claim to be the 25th top team in the section? Why not have Div. I thru Div. L playoffs and give every other kid the chance to say he was a CCS champion?

I posted that snarky bit below John Reid’s Merc story about Los Altos advancing in Div. II playoffs. I’m not against Los Altos, I like Rosenbaum and McColl, I almost went up to Milt McColl and told him that I used to date the best friend of his wife, yadda yadda. But Los Altos has won State Championships in football, they don’t need watered down divisional sectional banners cluttering up their ceiling.

I also posted that I like St. Francis over Sacred Heart of Menlo Park tonight at 7:30 at Independence in San Jo in that I am a hater of Sacred Heart football even in a miracle season because the Palo Alto Weekly covered them fully but never ran more than a line or two about 1-9 Gunn, the home team.

I will count and then delete what I think of as 300 hoops photos at about 15 contests, maybe 20 this season. But if I go all the way down to San Jo to watch St. Francis v. Sacred Heart, might as well watch two WCAL’s in the other bracket, Mitty and Serra. I guess I would flip and root for Sacred Heart against Mitty or Serra just for the Mid-Peninsula connection. I guess I like Homestead over Bells but won’t pay to see it.

Meanwhile a Gunn kid Ian Cramer won CCS wrestling at 145 or so, only the sixth ever to do that.

and 1: you’d be looking pretty dumb with not your finger and your thumb but CCS CHAMP Div. L on your lid:

edit to add:
John Reid filed another story, about Los Altos beating Santa Clara to advance to Div. II finals, and the chance to claim #25 best team in the section. Instead of a sarcastic “now I can sleep better quote like in yesterday’s story, now the coach Bob MacFarlane is saying how “great” it is to reach this “pinnacle”.

For the record, public schools have won 17 top level championships in the 46 years of Central Coast Section basektball. They’ve won (we’ve won, I’m a Gunn grad) 6 since 1988 when the multiple divisions format business started. We won 9 of the first 14 titles. In 2003, Jeremy Lin and Paly won Div. II title (and state title at that level) but arguably could have won the overall title.

Just them them play; that’s what gives us the occasional “Hoosiers” story. Don’t contribute to someone’s fall sense of “special”.

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in media. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

