Waxwings at 250

Art like this makes for better bureaucrats

Art like this makes for better bureaucrats

Laura Jacobson and I crossed path at Peet’s, she on her way to nearby studio me to this virtual world of 1’s and 0’s and signifying monk keys.

Sundry topics flew by, as the lines shrank. One, the line for her ordered coffee to be made. Two, the line I was to not stand it, to order.

The bottom line: City of Palo Alto Public Art Collection should include a Laura Jacobson – she lives Downtown North, went to Gunn and has studio here in town —

edit to add,the next day, because just as I typed above “town — ” my order came up and I thought good place to stop. But then:

—– Forwarded Message —–
From: Laura Jacobson
To: Mark B Weiss
Sent: Thursday, March 5, 2015 9:24 PM
Subject: Re: portrait of laura and waxwing, 2012

Wow, that was fast! So cool to run into you. And so glad to hear that Terry’s project is almost headed to Seattle. She must be in the studio very late these days. Thank you for the plug, the post, and the links to the posts! I hadn’t seen the 3-year-ago post so that was a fun surprise.
I would vote for flight there and the ride back to enjoy the coast line — it is so gorgeous!! Nothing can beat digging your toes into the cold sand of the beaches along Rte. 1.

Laura

––––––––––––––––––––
Laura Jacobson

studio: 4030 Transport Street
Palo Alto, CA 94303
url: http://www.laurajacobson.com
cell: (650) !!!-CLAY

On Thursday, March 5, 2015 9:46 AM, Mark B Weiss wrote:

that’s as far as I got before my coffee came up….just as well.

you may recall, as I did, and then found via the internal search function, that three years ago I had you pose for a photo, and its placement on my blog. I still have not actually written about your work or you, just these odd tangentials. In the previous piece, I can side-tracked playing a game wherein in each paragraph there were succeeding alphabeticals: a, b, c. It started, I think with Laura Jacobson (l, j) and Nelson Mandela (n, m) plus the photo that says”first floor” but I used as r, s, t…

you are probably too busy to focus on what I am doing here.

Terry meanwhile is trying to finish up what will be an installation next month in a group show in Seattle asian art museum, Wing Luke. She now claims we will have to drive there, since she does not trust shipping the work. on one level that’s cool, in that the process of getting there becomes part of the work. on the other hand, i hope she takes her friend minerva and lets me fly up separately.

mark w

i think that title also references a middlebook sculpture at Westin Hotel palo alto

if thou think this is weird, keep in mind that the original reference is to a Nabokov piece:

Karen- (in honor of her honor)
Not to confuse you, that I am six or seven deep in things I ran by you then dropped, but I want you to take a peek at this link, about the art of Palo Alto artist your neighbor Laura Jacobson (she lives huzzah and was sup actually). In my blog yesterday I suggest that her work should be in our Palo Alto public collection, perhaps at 250 Hamilton perhaps even your office.

I suggested specific pieces I wanted to donate to then-mayors Sid Espinosa (a New York skyline by Stacey Carter) and Yiaway Yeh (a color chart by Rob Syrett). I have this notion that there should be a fund to purchase in honor of each mayor, a piece of art. (I tried to donate the two pieces I just mention but got caught up in the red tape and still have them).

Laura Jacobson and I crossed path at Peet’s, she on her way to nearby studio me to this virtual world of 1’s and 0’s and signifying monk keys. Sundry topics flew by…
View on markweiss86.wordpre…
Preview by Yahoo

I don’t know if this piece is still available, but you should check her out nonetheless.

Mark Weiss

and1: I admit I’ve never read “Pale Fire”
I was the shadow of the waxwing slain
By the false azure in the windowpane;
I was the smudge of ashen fluff -and I
Lived on, flew on, in the reflected sky.
And from the inside, too, I’d duplicate
Myself, my lamp, an apple on a plate:
Uncurtaining the night, I’d let dark glass
Hang all the furniture above the grass,
And how delightful when a fall of snow
Covered my glimpse of lawn and reached up so
As to make chair and bed exactly stand
Upon that snow, out in that crystal land!

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in art, ethniceities, Plato's Republic, sex, sf moma and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

