I’ll trade you a 1960 Minnie Minoso for a hair cut

this is from the Times obit:

He was a five tool player, fast.

He was a five tool player, fast.


Minnie Minoso has been one of my all-time favorite players for close to 40 years. I never saw him in his prime, but I collected his cards in their prime. I sometimes think about trading Gerardo the barber for a cut. (The internet claims that a 1960 Topps Minnie Minoso goes for about $15 near mint but up to $250 mint).

Minnie famously came out of retirement for one game so that he could say he played in five decades.

Rob Syrett said he would do a tribute illustration.

I am popping in on Gerardo next. I guess I need a cut. I left my Minoso at my mujer’s.

and1: the barber is 552 Ramona, the lobby of Cardinal Hotel.

The Times obit mentions that President Obama, who like me is from the South Side, issued a statement about Minnie’s demise:
President Obama said in a statement that “Minnie may have been passed over by the Baseball Hall of Fame during his lifetime, but for me and for generations of black and Latino young people, Minnie’s quintessentially American story embodies far more than a plaque ever could.”

edit to add, three weeks later: today I did go get a hair cut from Gerardo, who repeated his story of having since Minnie Minoso since his Marinau days, in Cuba. I ended up paying for a hair cut and gifting him a 1960 Topps Minoso as a tip. Meanwhile I got into an interesting discussion with Palo Alto Rotarian Dave McKenzie about “Citizens United” and other topics, although I think this may have irritated the other man, also a Rotarian, who was trying to enjoy his haircut.

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in media and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

