Transcript of Mark Weiss 2015 application for Palo Alto Human Relations Commission

Just today, for about an hour, I was talking with a nice lady from Stevenson House, about elder care. 2. Earlier today, for one hour, I held a vigil at Lytton Plaza, re Susan O’Malley “Community Advice”. 3. Pretty consistently, since 1977, as Student Body President of Terman, and on-going 37 years, I fill my dance card with various “human relations” matters, some more formal than others. Auto-didact, mostly.

President, Earthwise Productions of Palo Alto
concert promoter / artist manager / blogger

I’ve fairly consistently been involved in civic engagement since 1977 when Cheryl Putt Preising my classmate tapped me on the shoulder at brunch and suggested I run for Terman Junior High Student Body President.

And my business started as a social experiment as much as for-profit, to bring people together. It was a reaction to Rodney King Riots, and first Gulf War; it’s also a spin-off of Bay Area Action / Earth Day.

I also spoke in August, 2014 to Council, about Ferguson, MO and how it relates to here, about the continuum of neighborhood watch and uniformed public safety. I spoke for 2 minutes Nov. 25, 2014 to a group of 100 Stanford students who had marched to 250.

I’ve admitted in public, I think it was housing element sub-committee, the strain of my 40 % rent (delta).

I worked in 2009 with Claude Ezran to produce the first World Music Day.

I think we can do better, even here, on Gideon v. Wainwright*. I wrote about “Sean Berry Case,” here, as an aberration of justice.

And see below, re “healthy community”:

This is my response to 1, 2, and 3 combined: I can explicate if interviewed for position by Council an example of what I do privately and how I am perceived:

To (list of 32 names including me)

I just voted. I voted for a single candidate for council. I voted for you. Last night, a friend of Sam’s committed suicide. This is very troubling. There are serious issues in Palo Alto. Of all the candidates, I think you are best suited to address them.

Sincerely,
Scott Rothstein, 735 La Para Avenue, Palo Alto, CA

I got about 2,100 votes, and {approximately} 9,000 all-time.

I’ve written more than 100 articles on my Plastic Alto blog on these issues (and another 1,000 on the arts, 500,000+ words all in; some of it may have been read by, and partially influenced, even by Chaos Theory, if indirectly, current leadership and their / our utterances, and “Our Palo Alto”).

(Community Services element of the Comprehensive Plan) — I own a hard copy of

*I’m gonna chat here a wee bit and provide supplemental material in the form of this link, if you are in the electronic realm of Plastic Alto the blog and not for instance on the panel of 7, 8 or 9 council members being handed hard copy of this, embed of a panel featuring not Adlai Stevenson of Illinois but Bryan Stevenson of Alabama, on Gideon: are we as fair to the poor as we claim to be?

“transcript”here means I’ve re-typed the contents of my application, which was 80 percent hand-written, while sitting on the 7th floor of 250 Hamilton, aka City Hall or City Clerk / Mayor’s office. Initially I felt the Rothstein statement was sufficient to prove my credential as an HR commish. Either way, I will keep on keepin’ on, or as my rabbi (JM) says, “you may not finish your work, but you can’t stop either.”

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in Plato's Republic, words and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

