Goodbye, Minnie Minosos (53 Topps, 54 Redman)

My Minnies were stolen from me

My Minnies were stolen from me


I had forgotten, but, besides the doubles of 1960 Topps Minnie Minoso that I am fixing to trade Gerardo for a haircut (or two?), as I inspect my manifest of the 76 cards I had in that binder, there were two older, and rarer and assuredly more tradeworthy Minnie, and that I if Cooperation did not had elevated our Orestes fellow former South Sider, to the pantheon with the Mays, Aaron, Koufax, Feller, Greenberg, Cy Young and “the purloined Gehrig.”

_20150307_122022

1954 Redman Orestes Minoso aka Minnie:
1954RedmanMinoso

If you only have 2 cards from a set, like the 1953 Topps, 11 years before I was born and 19 years before I recall watching baseball and buying packs, its a good synecdoche to have Minnie Minoso and Enos Slaughter, “Country” as compared to “Cuba”, known I picked up somewhere along the way for a Mad Dash around the bases to win the 1946 Series for…wait for it..the Cards:
1953toppsSlaughter

1952 Redman Yogi Berra
1952redmanYogiBerra

I was a Giants fan from 1970 or so on, but would have picked up somewhere some respect for the Dodgers, especially during the integration era and the value of a card, I would have spied at these trade shows, circa 1975-1978, of a Pee Wee Reese:

1953 Redman Pee Wee Reese, Brooklyn

1953 Redman Pee Wee Reese, Brooklyn

Likewise or more to the point I would have read about Bobby Thomson and the shot heard round the world; he died in 2010 at 86.
1953redmanbobbythomson

1949 Remar Billy Martin of Oakland Oaks, of PCL, putout by bread company:
1949remarBillyMartin

The oldest modern era bubble gum card in my set is or was a 1949 Bowman Bob Feller:
1949BowmanBobFeller

1951 was the start of the Topps dynasty and that year featured smallish cards you, people older than me but younger than my dad, could play a game with; here, getting dealt a Warren Spahn is a “ball”:
1951toppsSpahn

Phillies star hurler Robin Roberts (who might have been on the mound when eventual newscaster of same name was born, in 1960) was elected to the Hall of Fame, after 286 wins and 2,000+ strikeouts, a 7-time All Star, in 1976 or during the time that I was reading Baseball Digest and going to card shows, influencing this purchase decision:

1952 Topps

1952 Topps

Meanwhile I might have seen batting champ Tiger George Kell on the also rans on the Hall of Fame balloting, although he was not inducted until The Veterans’ Committee i 1983, after I had stopped being active in the hobby. My cards sat in my parents’ house during college. Steve Cohen and I went to an occasional show in the late 1980s. I would think most of the increase in value for the hobby or industry as a whole occurred during my collecting years, or between 1975 and 1990. Kell:
1952toppskell

A timeline:
First national broadcast of color television The Roses Parade, 1954;
I was born, 1964.
I bought this card, a 1955 Bowman Willie Mays, with “Color TV” stylings, in 1974 or so;
February, 1, 2008, about 7 years ago, it and everything else on this page disappears from the house I was renting in Barron Park.

This is probably my favorite baseball card, all time.

This is probably my favorite baseball card, all time.

later that day, at new Starbucks at Edgewood, near closing, first day of daylight savings…
1954 Topps Ted Williams
1954toppstedWilliams
1954 Topps Duke Snider

1954 Topps Duke Snider

1954 Topps Duke Snider

I had three 1956 Topps in that set, Willie Mays, Jackie Robinson (my only Jackie Robinson) and a Roger Craig (some people call it a rookie card; I sent mine to him while he was the Giants skipper and asked him to pass on word to Mike Remlinger that he was the only guy with “Wah Hoo Wah” and “Humm Baby” on his side):
1956ToppsWillieMays
1956ToppsJackieRobinson

this is not my actual card

this is not my actual card

1959 Topps but in so-so shape:
59mays
I lost 7 Mayses all in, or all out, but at least I have several more from the sixties and seventies, 1963 thru 1972. It was the PSA article about “Mays sets” that inspired this bad body.
Here’s a better image
1959WillieMays
1959 Topps Sandy Koufax
1959toppskoufax

1959 Topps Robin Roberts
1959toppsroberts

1960 Topps Hank Aaron
1960ToppsHankAaron
1960 Topps Willie Mays
topps1960williemays
1960 Topps Sandy Koufax
1960toppssandyKoufax
1960 Topps Yogi Berra
1960ToppsYogiBerra
1960 Topps Stan Musial
1960ToppsStanTheMan

(I just noticed there are no 1961s in the grouping?)

1962 Mickey Mantle
1962toppsmantle

1962 Topps Stan Musial
1962toppsmusial

1962 Topps Willie Mays

These also have a pleasing post-media design

These also have a pleasing post-media design

1962 Topps Roberto Clemente
1962toppsclementeBob

1934 Goudey “Lou Gehrig Says” Lou Gehrig
lougehrigsays

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in filthy lucre and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Goodbye, Minnie Minosos (53 Topps, 54 Redman)

  1. I’m sad that all that stuff was stolen, dude. Let’s just hope that eventually all these cards end up in the hands of collectors who value them as much as you do.

    You mean, after generating $20,000 for the fences and perp?

Leave a Reply

