Lordy, lordy lordy a.k.a. Joe Ely

Freight 031015

Freight 031015

edit to add: I posted this via my handheld during the show and updated to say the song is called “I’m Gonna Strangle You, Shorty” and here is seen a few years back at Saxon Club in Austin. I spoke to Joe Ely briefly after the show and had him sign my program. I said I had brought his fellow Flatlander Jimmie Dale Gilmore to Palo Alto in about 2000; I said “have you talked to him lately?” and he said “A couple weeks ago” and I said I brought him to Palo Alto about 13 years ago. Joe Ely said he has played Palo Alto but not for a whiles. I said I’d like to remedy that. I may have mispronounced “remedy” to sound like Jon Dee Graham. Or “Jon Dee” rather.

I gave Ruthie a yellow rose, from Darling Flower Shop, 2004 University Avenue, around the corner, Jay and Barbara Touriel props. I gave Paul Thorne a comic book, from Shattuck Street. Longer story. Daredevil. It’s actually for Charles Driebe.

Their honcore doing a Woody Guthrie thing was like a religions experience not sure why. But if I get in trouble at my interview for Palo Alto Human Relations Commission, I’m going to pull these lyrics out of my pocket and recite them like a prayer:
It takes a ten-dollar shoe to fit my feet,
It takes a ten-dollar shoe to fit my feet,
It takes a ten-dollar shoe to fit my feet, Lord, Lord,
An’ I ain’t a-gonna be treated this way.

Your a-two-dollar shoe hurts my feet,
Your two-dollar shoe hurts my feet,
Yes, your two-dollar shoe hurts my feet, Lord, Lord,
An’ I ain’t a-gonna be treated this way.

Daredevil I already said that.

and1: I thought that Mike Kappus the semi-retired super-agent and taste-maker extraoridnaire (Rosebud) introduced me to “Victor Ortiz” a tall handsome man with grey hair, but that’s actually the name of a boxer (and Paul Thorn supposedly once fought Roberto Duran, that’s how we roll here in Plasty).

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in austistic and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

